Walmart Dell Computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rzdave

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
2
Just got a Walmart Dell pre-loaded with Windows Vista. I will be putting windows XP Professional on the drive instead. Only problem is there is no way to get the damn machine to boot from the CD rom so I can clobber the current format and re-format the drive NTFS and then proceed to load XP.

Even tried using a USB bootable cd drive instead of the SERIAL ATA DVD drive that comes with the machine. even after specifying the boot sequence order in the DELL cmos, still no luck... any suggestions? Machine is a Dell e521 model.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
243
you should be able to change the boot order in the cmos (even a dell you should be able to. I know they lock down the cmos so you can't change much, but i think you should be able to change it there)... the only thing that comes to mind, make sure you save the changes before getting out of the cmos. except that i am stumped.
 

Datalyss

Banned
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
381
rzdave said:
Even tried using a USB bootable cd drive instead of the SERIAL ATA DVD drive that comes with the machine. even after specifying the boot sequence order in the DELL cmos, still no luck... any suggestions? Machine is a Dell e521 model.
Did you try putting the CD/DVD drive first in the the boot sequence. On my E521, I set the CD-RW/DVD drive first and the hard drive second.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
941
The machine will only look to boot from a CD drive if you specify it in BIOS, otherwise, it will boot as stated in your already-configured BIOS settings. Make CDROM first boot device - if it fails, what does it say or do? Usually, it will ask you to "press any button to boot from CD" - if not, state what happens.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
1,893
First Name
Chris
dont know if this helps but when reformatting sons comp first time i changed the bios order it didnt seem to save. turns out I was probably to eager to get out of it and did not follow all the steps. i think once you save the changes make sure you hit escape you will get a new menu follow those direction to exit bios.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
243
yeah i know it's bios, but I was trying to keep terms the same at what they say in the first place. It sounded like they were in the bios changing the settings.
 

Dell_CA

Account Closed
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
28
Hello,

My name is Mike, I’m a Technical Analyst located at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products. I read the question and wanted to throw out another suggestion.

Changing the boot order is definitely one way of getting it to boot from CD, but it’s time consuming. If you tap F12 when you see the DELL screen at boot you will be prompted with a one time boot menu. This will allow you to boot from CD without changing anything in BIOS.

From what you said, changing the boot order doesn’t seem to get the system to boot from CD. You may want to make sure that you are saving the BIOS settings after changing them as suggested by muppy03. Give the F12 option a try and see how it works out for you.

Mike
Dell customer advocate
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top