1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Want to drive backup for Raid 5

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by djangojazz, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djangojazz

djangojazz Thread Starter

Raid 5 has 3 drives working but only one is actually needed for a backup, correct? I was thinking of getting a backup system going for my server, Windows Small Business Server 2003(basically Win Server Enterprise 2003), and looked up Ghost on Norton's site. My company used an older version of Ghost when we had a 2000 server environment and it worked great but I don't know what version it was but I do know that we did not have raid at all on that server.

Now I am new to the whole idea of backing up a server and implementing the system myself but at this point I would like to. The current server is decently fast for a small business and has a dual core HT Pentium chip with 4 gigs RAM but I am ignorant on the FSB and Ram brand and I want to say the FSB is in the 533 to 650 meg range but not in the current 800 and 1066 ranges. It has a front drive loading bay for the harddrives to be hooked up to a tray bay, pop it in and go. Currently the system has a RAID 5 card with 3 active in that config and one hot ready if one of the others fails.