1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

want to set up a comp to share files help

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by manitoba1073, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    heres what i want to do. i want ppl to be able to upload and download files from a comp i have. it is for modding community of gamers. something like an FTP or similar . it will be like a web site, hopefully. or similar

    any help is appreciated
     
  2. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    ok got it set up. but it works on comps on my network, but noone so far outside can get in to it.

    i have a linksys befw11s4 router. using IIS ftp from microsoft
     
  3. eyal_p

    eyal_p

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Your router is acting as a firewall, you need to disable it, you need to go to he's settings and turn it off or configure it in a way that he will let people access to your FTP port...
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    And unless you have a static IP address or a DynDNS (FREE) you will constantly have to change your settigns every time your WAN interface IP address changes.
     
  5. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    ok ive configured the router and have a static ip, but i have 50/50 sucess rate of others on the net getting to the ftp folder.

    any other ideas. FTP://67.136.232.124

    its set to anomymis users right now.
     
  6. eyal_p

    eyal_p

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Not all FTP clients are set as Anonymous (not anomymis:)) by deafult, it might be the problem, other then that i see no problem, i tryed to connect and it worked fine, tell them to just use Internet Explorer and it should work fine.
     
  7. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    i have it set to anonymous.
     
  8. cnelson04

    cnelson04

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    896
    "424 can't open data connect" thats what i get when useing firefox. You shoudl try to get it to work w/ firefox since there are more and more people useing it. :) -cnelson.
     
  9. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    how do u get it to do that also.
     
  10. manitoba1073

    manitoba1073 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    an error ocuured opening that folder on the FTP Sever. make sure u have permission to acess that folder

    details

    200 type set to A
    227 enter passive mode
    426 connection closed transfer aborted

    heres one error message

    and others have gotten that 425 message
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326941

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice