1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Want to upgrade graphics card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Alex1337, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex1337

Alex1337 Thread Starter

Hey I have a HP Media Center PC m1250.uk and I want to upgrade my graphics card from a Radeon X300 SE to a low - mid budget card than can competently play 1080p HD video from YouTube and things like that,

I'm soon going to upgrade the RAM on my machine from 512mb to 4GB, and I wanted to upgrade the graphics card too,
    I know that I have PCIe slot and I was wondering whether I could put a PCIe 2.0 card into my machine and whether I'd need a new power adaptor or anything like that, I'm quite new to upgrading computers so any help would be grateful and I can also post any extra information you may need, thanks!

Alex.

2. Alex1337

Alex1337 Thread Starter

Any help?

3. Alex1337

Alex1337 Thread Starter

Anything?

4. Snagglegaster

Snagglegaster Banned

Hello Alex! From my reading of HP's specs, your computer doesn't have a PCI-E 2 slot. You can still use a PCI-E 2 card, but it will only transfer data at the slower PCI-E 1.x speed. Any card better than a Radeon 3800 is capable of delivering 1080p video, but frankly, an Athlon64 3200+ isn't likely to be enough processor for the job.

Edit: I probably should have been a little more thorough in addressing your processor issue. Generally, to get decent 1080p video you should have a dual core processor on the order of an Athlon64 x2 4200+ or a Core 2 Duo 1.8 GHz or better.

5. Alex1337

Alex1337 Thread Starter