1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

want to upgrade memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by CharlieG, Jan 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CharlieG

    CharlieG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    i want to upgrade my memory and am not sure what all info i need to purchase extra memory. also i am not sure where to find the info i need. i have a packard bell 1850 with a 233 intel pentium processor. it came with 40 mb edo ram and is upgradeable to 128. is this what i need to get some lead out my computer, short of buying a new one! thanks for any help at all and thanks for at least looking! you all are great people for helping us out!!!
     
  2. Rikku

    Rikku

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    743
    Unfortunately EDO simms are sorta pricey.

    Here's a list at Crucial of their EDO simms. Its cheaper than a few other places I looked at...

    I'd suggest grabbing a pair of 32 meg SIMMS and then you'd be up over 100megs which would be fine. Make sure you have two empty SIMM slots...


    EDO SIMM price list

    (go for the non-parity, 50ns, 32 meg simm)
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Try www.pricewatch.com.

    The prices are not that bad, but then it is also a search engine ..
    It will help you find those difficult parts fast.

    You can alao ru it up to 128 Megs if that is what it says you can do.

    however.. Recently I upgraded an antique.. Bought the guy a new computer as well, but maintained the older one.

    It took a few things to make it faster. This was an IBM PS/1.

    Upgraded the EDO RAM to 32 MEgs. Increased the HDD to 2.5 gigs, in addition to the 1 gig originally inside. BUT...

    What I did was using one of my progs that I had downloaded in shareware form.. Disk Manager 2000,
    I moved ALL of the disk form the 1 gig to the 2.5 gig.
    Configuration files, archives, programs, OS, everything copied...and moved to the larger disk.

    That left him with the 1 gig to use as backup and data service.
    But gave him a larger capacity swap disk in the 2.5 gig.
    MAde his computer VERY much faster..
    Something to think about..
    Where I got the 2.5 gig, was the OTHER computer....
    The new one I bought for him had a 2.5 gig, I bought a 20 gig for it and did a swap .... works for us...
    He put the antique in his office in the city,
    and the new computer with the large HDD and new OS WinME is in his house for him and his family.
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    CharlieG, while you are at Pricewatch, check out the prices for a new computer...

    Some of what they have to offer at rock bottom prices are great.
    Been shopping there and just about only through them for a number of years.

    did you know that you should be able to link the two computers together...? Just athought.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    $43 - EDO 256MB 50ns
    $28 - EDO 128MB 60ns
    $7 - EDO 64MB 60ns
    for complete systems..
    a few starting prices
    $284 - Complete Athlon 1GHz 266 + Win
    $255 - Complete Athlon 900MHz 200 + Win
    $256 - Complete Athlon 850MHz 200 + Win
    $271 - Complete Athlon Tbird 800MHz + Win
    $287 - Complete Athlon Tbird 750MHz + Win
    $286 - Complete Athlon Tbird 700MHz + Win
    $246 - Complete Duron 900 + Win
    $245 - Complete Duron 850 + Win
    $240 - Complete Duron 800 + Win
    $232 - Complete Duron 750 + Win
    $228 - Complete Duron 700 + Win
    $281 - Complete Pentium III 600MHz + Win
    $272 - Complete Celeron 1GHz + Win
    $247 - Complete Celeron 850 + Win
    $237 - Complete Celeron 800 + Win
    $230 - Complete Celeron 633 + Win
    $227 - Complete Celeron 600 + Win
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66329

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice