Want to view code on a Lotus Symphony program on Windows 98

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sean106965

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
9
Hello, I have a Windows 98 computer with a lotus symphony software on it that I would like to know how to access the code and edit it as needed? I noticed the program is locked from edits with a password that know one would know. Is there anyway to bypass that? I should add the software was written by the former owner of the company I work for and is now deceased and no ones knows the password.

I know very little about programming and nothing about the lotus program or windows 98. The program is currently used to perform a series of calculations. I want to be able to view what calculations are being done behind the scenes and adjust as necessary for updating purposes.

Thanks in advance for any help or information!
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,711
Sorry, but I'm afraid we can't help you with this one. From the Rules page:

Bypassing Passwords (show less)
Please do not ask for assistance with (or ways to bypass) a forgotten or unknown password, personal identification number (PIN) or any other type of access code that may be required on a computer, mobile device or web site. As there is no way to verify the actual situation or intent, no assistance will be provided and any such threads will be closed.
 

sean106965

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
9
Hello, I have a Windows 98 computer with a lotus symphony software on it that I would like to know how to access the code and edit it as needed?
I know very little about programming and nothing about the lotus program or windows 98. The program is currently used to perform a series of calculations. I want to be able to view what calculations are being done behind the scenes and adjust as necessary for updating purposes.

Thanks in advance for any help or information!
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,711
I'm guessing these are macros which are written for the spreadsheet element of the suite, correct? If so, what instructions are performed by the code, i.e. what does it actually do on the spreadsheet?
 

sean106965

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
9
Correct, it is in spreadsheet "mode". Ive attempted going to the word processor, graph, and communications and none of those had any data in them. You input a series of variables for tank design and it computes stresses and deflections based on the parameters given, i.e. tank length, width, and depth, specific gravity of fluid, material thickness. I want to see what formulas are being used to perform the calculations and transfer those to a different program that i would put together on Windows 10, most likely in Excel.
 

sean106965

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
9
This information appears to be for the later revived Lotus Symphony, the interface does not resemble that of which I have. Can it still be applied?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,901
Wow, that's pretty old. It apparently allowed using something called the "Symphony Command Language (or SCL)". It also had several "add-in applications" that could be "attached" and activated, extending Symphony's capabilities, including a powerful macro manager.

As old and complicated as it sounds, it may be tough trying to find someone still well-versed in it all AND willing to help.


FWIW - more info on Wikipedia here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_Symphony_(MS-DOS)
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,711
I want to see what formulas are being used to perform the calculations...
It's been a long time since I've been near this suite, so bear with me. If you hover the mouse over the cells which contain the formulae, does it not show you the calculation itself; are they hidden?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,711
My apologies, but I've done a lot of reading on this subject and I can't find a way to circumvent this without delving into topics which are not appropriate for the forum.

Perhaps someone else can chime in and offer a more enlightened response.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top