Warcraft 3 - damaged CD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gurutech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
I have WC3 installed on one of my computers, but in order to play it, I need the CD in the drive. Unfortunately the CD was damaged by one of my kids (they won't admit which one did it!), but I do have a backup ISO image of the disk. I burned that to a CD, but that didn't work, so it looks like I will have to buy another disk. Is this correct, or will Blizzard send me a new disk if I can prove that the one I have now is damaged?
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
3,974
Hmm, help from blizzard may be a stretch..
I know we can't talk about ISO's, but just wondering why it didn't work...

Have you tried a "disc doctor" or any of the disc fixing ideas?.. Or is it "Damaged" as in someone stepped on and cracked it?
Prolly the easyest would be to buy a new one.
And if you want to try the "backup" again.. be sure you have a working one. :p
 

gurutech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
Yeah, the disk has a small footprint on it, and a line through the footprint (CD is cracked almost in half).
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
3,974
LOL, yeh.. they work good for coasters for your drink, but not so good for walking on. :D

So.. your pretty much looking at buying a new one then. Cant save that one. :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
6,650
gurutech said:
Yeah, the disk has a small footprint on it, and a line through the footprint (CD is cracked almost in half).
:D

It reminds me the CD game I lended once to a friend for a few weeks. When it came back, I just had to garnish it with some mozarella slices to have a pizza.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
165
It didnt work cause you'll have to reinstall the game from the disk you burned. Every game ive done that to (which is all of them) ive had to reinstall the game.
 

gurutech

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
Ha! The miracle of superglue, some super-fine grade sandpaper, and PEANUT BUTTER!

I got the disk working again.... LOL I can't make a copy of it or install the game from the original disk, but at least WC detects that the disk is in the drive when I want to play!

I glued the disk halves back together with the superglue, sanded the "extra" down as best I could, then filled the gaps with a thin layer of peanut butter, and it worked!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top