1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Warcraft 3 - damaged CD

Discussion in 'Games' started by gurutech, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    I have WC3 installed on one of my computers, but in order to play it, I need the CD in the drive. Unfortunately the CD was damaged by one of my kids (they won't admit which one did it!), but I do have a backup ISO image of the disk. I burned that to a CD, but that didn't work, so it looks like I will have to buy another disk. Is this correct, or will Blizzard send me a new disk if I can prove that the one I have now is damaged?
     
  2. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    Hmm, help from blizzard may be a stretch..
    I know we can't talk about ISO's, but just wondering why it didn't work...

    Have you tried a "disc doctor" or any of the disc fixing ideas?.. Or is it "Damaged" as in someone stepped on and cracked it?
    Prolly the easyest would be to buy a new one.
    And if you want to try the "backup" again.. be sure you have a working one. :p
     
  3. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Yeah, the disk has a small footprint on it, and a line through the footprint (CD is cracked almost in half).
     
  4. Super-D-38

    Super-D-38

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,974
    LOL, yeh.. they work good for coasters for your drink, but not so good for walking on. :D

    So.. your pretty much looking at buying a new one then. Cant save that one. :eek:
     
  5. Chicon

    Chicon

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,650
    :D

    It reminds me the CD game I lended once to a friend for a few weeks. When it came back, I just had to garnish it with some mozarella slices to have a pizza.
     
  6. blaine2521

    blaine2521

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    It didnt work cause you'll have to reinstall the game from the disk you burned. Every game ive done that to (which is all of them) ive had to reinstall the game.
     
  7. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Ha! The miracle of superglue, some super-fine grade sandpaper, and PEANUT BUTTER!

    I got the disk working again.... LOL I can't make a copy of it or install the game from the original disk, but at least WC detects that the disk is in the drive when I want to play!

    I glued the disk halves back together with the superglue, sanded the "extra" down as best I could, then filled the gaps with a thin layer of peanut butter, and it worked!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539362

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice