1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

washed out colors,huge icons and typespecled start screen

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by clootie, Dec 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. clootie

    clootie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    My normal dark blue start screen(hp standard )has gone small white dot speckly all over screen.My type size has gotten very large,all windows have gotten very large and many have drifted far enough right to hide the close ,minimize and expand boxes.the start window icons have all gotten very large and all color and pictures are speckly washed out and severely degraded .
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    This may be a driver problem with your video card or its dieing.

    Go to Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Under Display, is there a yellow !
    If not, can you tell us the name of your video card? You may have to expand the + to find the name.

    Also, try this. Control Panel | Display. Settings tab. Whats your screen area and your colours set to?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Sounds like you have changed your desktop size and color settings accidentally. Either that or someone is messing with your head. It sounds lilke somehow your desktop got set to 640x480 @ 16 colors. Just set the desktop area a little higher and everything should come back to where you can see it.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    This is a reply from clootie:

    Yep, do as Rockn suggested and see if you can increase it

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. clootie

    clootie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    when I try to change 16 color settings higher it jumps the color settings to 256
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    leave the colours alone, and increase the screen area to 800 x 600. Does that work?

    eddie
     
  7. clootie

    clootie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    just moving the size pointer to your suggeted setting causes the color selector to jump to 256 colors
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    Can you not increase the colour when you increase the size? What is your OS? I'm assuming Win95/98/Me. This is an updated driver, but lets see if we can sort this out first. If not, try downloading the lastest driver.

    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=windows9x

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. clootie

    clootie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    it won't hold..i've tried to increase color and size..it appears to work but when i apply and restart it jumps back to 16 colors at 640x480
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay, then try the driver.

    eddie
     
  11. padutch

    padutch

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,297
    My PC was running just fine and then I loaded the drivers from http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=windows9x for the TNT.
    Now I have the same problem as Clootie. I have removed and reinstalled every way there is. I was looking at the sys.ini and think my problem might be in there. For some reason it seems to have changed in the last couple of days. It seems to be calling for 2 different video drivers and it has device=turbovcd.vxd installed at 2 different locations which I think is strange. I am going to paste my sys.ini here in hopes someone here can shed some light on it.

    [boot]
    oemfonts.fon=vgaoem.fon
    system.drv=atmsys.drv
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv
    shell=Explorer.exe
    user.exe=user.exe
    gdi.exe=gdi.exe
    sound.drv=mmsound.drv
    dibeng.drv=dibeng.dll
    comm.drv=comm.drv
    mouse.drv=mouse.drv
    keyboard.drv=keyboard.drv
    *DisplayFallback=0
    fonts.fon=vgasys.fon
    fixedfon.fon=vgafix.fon
    386Grabber=vgafull.3gr
    display.drv=pnpdrvr.drv
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3DTEXT~1.SCR
    atm.system.drv=system.drv

    [keyboard]
    keyboard.dll=
    oemansi.bin=
    subtype=
    type=4

    [boot.description]
    system.drv=Standard PC
    keyboard.typ=Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    mouse.drv=Microsoft IntelliPoint
    aspect=100,96,96
    display.drv=Standard Display Adapter (VGA)

    [386Enh]
    ebios=*ebios
    woafont=dosapp.fon
    mouse=*vmouse,msmouse.vxd
    device=*dynapage
    device=*vpd
    PagingDrive=C:
    device=*int13
    keyboard=*vkd
    device=*combuff
    device=turbovcd.vxd
    EMMExclude=C000-CFFF,C000-CFFF,C000-CFFF

    [device=*vcd]
    device=*int13
    keyboard=*vkd
    display=*vdd,*vflatd
    device=*combuff
    device=turbovcd.vxd

    [NonWindowsApp]
    TTInitialSizes=4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 18 20 22

    [power.drv]

    [drivers]
    MSVideo.LVfWWDM=lvfwwdm.drv
    MSVideo.VfWWDM=vfwwdm.drv
    wavemapper=*.drv
    MSACM.imaadpcm=*.acm
    MSACM.msadpcm=*.acm
    wave=mmsystem.dll
    midi=mmsystem.dll

    [iccvid.drv]

    [mciseq.drv]

    [mci]
    cdaudio=mcicda.drv
    sequencer=mciseq.drv
    waveaudio=mciwave.drv
    avivideo=mciavi.drv
    videodisc=mcipionr.drv
    vcr=mcivisca.drv
    MPEGVideo=mciqtz.drv
    MPEGVideo2=mciqtz.drv

    [vcache]

    [Password Lists]
    DUTCH=C:\WINDOWS\DUTCH.PWL

    [Display]
    SwCursor=1

    [drivers32]
    msacm.msg711=msg711.acm
    vidc.CVID=iccvid.dll
    VIDC.IV31=ir32_32.dll
    VIDC.IV32=ir32_32.dll
    vidc.MSVC=msvidc32.dll
    VIDC.MRLE=msrle32.dll
    msacm.lhacm=lhacm.acm
    msacm.msg723=msg723.acm
    vidc.M263=msh263.drv
    vidc.M261=msh261.drv
    VIDC.IV50=ir50_32.dll
    msacm.iac2=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IAC25_32.AX
    VIDC.CVID=iccvid.dll
    VIDC.YVU9=lvcodec2.dll
    VIDC.I420=msh263.drv
    VIDC.YUY2=msyuv.dll
    VIDC.UYVY=msyuv.dll
    MSACM.imaadpcm=imaadp32.acm
    MSACM.msadpcm=msadp32.acm
    MSACM.msgsm610=msgsm32.acm
    MSACM.trspch=tssoft32.acm

    Any help I would be grateful for.
    DUTCH
     
  12. padutch

    padutch

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,297
    OK, i got mine back working again! What I had to do was to remove NVIDIA from Device Manager and also go to the registry and remove everything listed under the name NAVIDIA then reboot and load my original drivers from my Restoration CD. I don't know why the new drivers will not work but for the time being I will stick with the old ones. At least I have my old settings back. Befor you go into the Registry you should probably ask one of the more experianced techs here. That is a touchy place to be and you can do more harm then good.
    Lesson Learned, if it isn't broke don't try to fix it!!!

    I have learned!!
    DUTCH
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60436

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice