1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wd Hard Drive Detection.....has me stumped

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by d3vsop, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. d3vsop

    d3vsop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Ok, here is a strange problem for you guys. I just reformatted my C drive and reinstalled windows. Everything went fine. No problems there. The problem I am having is that my other drive, drive D:, is not showing up in windows now. Before the reformat it detected fine. I used the ASTRA32 program and it finds my other hard drive. Ive tried going into the bios and doing an auto detect and all of that, but still nothing. What do I do, any suggestions?

    Mike
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    What version of Windows are you running?
     
  3. d3vsop

    d3vsop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Im running XP
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management and see what it says there about the secondary hard drive.
     
  5. d3vsop

    d3vsop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I did that, the second hard drive doesnt show up. See, they both were working fine before the reformat of the one drive. The fact that that ASTRA program can detect the other drive has me baffled. they both are western digital 80 gig drives, so ya, I dunno. What is really bad is I have all my saved stuff on that other drive, so I really need to get access to it. Any other ideas?

    Mike
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    if you cannot see it in the bios,check the eide cable,it may be lose or need replacing
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice