1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WD - MyBook stopped working, no power or reset button

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tonyacardo, Dec 4, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    I upgraded to an 8350 AMD processor and to do it I had to disconnect my external drive. When I reconnected the drive, nothing happened. I looked for a power button but did not find one. I also looked for a reset button but could not find one. (I did find a sort of slot that I stuck a pen into but I did not feel any mechanism depress or anything like that when I did it.) (Pen = I opened a ball point pen, took out the barrel of the thing and stuck it inside the slot)

    I bought this drive so I have no doubt it was on special at Costco or something like that. Does it even have a reset or power button? All I see is a place for a power cord and the USB.

    Also, when I held it in my hand and plugged it in at the same time I did not feel anything. No whirring of a motor, no slight pull to the left or right to indicate the motor is doing anything.

    It could still be a power cord but that seems like a stretch.

    Do you think it is just dead? I can't remember when I bought it so it must be a couple of years old at the least.

    And:
    Prior to the CPU upgrade it gave me no problem, none whatsoever.

    I know it sounds suspicious but I am pretty sure the CPU did not kill it. The 8350 has no history of violence. It had no motive and I can find no evidence of any CPU wrongdoing.
    .................................................
    I am creating a new image on another drive, just in case.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  2. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    657
    First Name:
    Morten
    Can you try to connect it to a different computer? Just to see if it'll spin up.
    If all else fails, and it has long passed the warranty, you can try to remove it from the external case. Then install it in a desktop as a second drive, if that's possible. If not you can carefully remove the existing drive from a laptop, insert this "faulty" drive and see if the Bios will recognize it.
    Just be very careful. You can, if unlucky, ruin the laptop.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,511
    First Name:
    Allan
    The Usb sockets on the case may have been accidentally disconnected while you were changing the Cpu so try connecting the drive to a Usb socket on the back of the PC.
     
    tonyacardo and Fireflycph like this.
  4. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    657
    First Name:
    Morten
    Absolutely brilliant. Why didn't I think of that?

    Yes, trying different USB ports would be step number 1.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,511
    First Name:
    Allan
    Thanks but let's wait to see if I'm right first !
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  6. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    657
    First Name:
    Morten
    Even if you're wrong, it's still the first step to try.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,511
    First Name:
    Allan
    True enough I suppose. :cool:
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  8. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,771
    Does it have any kind of light on it to show the power supply is working? I have an real old 500GB one and it has a strip on the front that kind of glows lower and brighter.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  9. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    No, there are no lights. Just a place to plug in power and a place for the USB. This is the Costco model.

    I am still going to rip it open and see if I can get anything back from it
    What are the chances of getting anything back from it? Should I even try or am I just adding to my frustration. (speaking of frustration - I had over 30 commercial solicitations from Best Buy and NewEgg and others I bought stuff from over the Black Friday and Cyber Monday. I had 75 in my inbox from my blog. I can't buy anything or they won't leave me alone. I am in the comfort of my living room, watching a WW2 documentary and these idiots are trying to sell me stuff. This makes me hate them)
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,511
    First Name:
    Allan
    You had no luck using a Usb socket on the motherboard's connectors at the back then ? How are you supplying the power to it ?

    Impossible to say if you will recover anything by dismantling that WD external drive or not, you will just have to try it.

    There should a way of opting out of those emails at the various company websites.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  11. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    I need to buy another hard drive. It is used for file storage. I might go internal or external. I don't know. Anyway. For longevity and reliability; is it better to get a 5400 RPM or the 7200 RPM.
    I will occasionally watch a movie from this hard drive, so it 5400 enough, or do I need the 7200? To me it seems the faster it turns the easier it is to break.
    (also, if I can ever figure out how to stream to my TV, I will stream a movie from my hard disk to my TV, so I doubt there will be much bufferrring ability in the TV, if that makes any difference in the RPM question)

    Is there a preferred long term storage Brand. or does that matter? It seems to me that WD and Seagate are the same thing now, but maybe not.

    .........
    I also bought a new enclosure from Amazon to see if I can get anything off of the dead drive. I expect it is all lost, I had a ton of WWII documentaries on there. I regret losing them.
    So reliability, longevity, etc are more important than price, unless there is a big dollar difference. I don't want to pay 2x as much for a drive that will only last a year longer. I will just create a real schedule to back them up and buy new drives every couple of years to switch out when they get close to their expiration dates
     
  12. tecknurd

    tecknurd

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    114
    The RPM of the hard drive doesn't matter for longevity and reliability. The 7200 RPM drives are better if you want high performance which is low latency and high throughput.

    To have reliable and longevity is best to do backups or in simpler terms multiple copies of the data.

    I recommend the following and a hard drive in it.
    Code:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182247
    
    I have an older model and it works just fine. The blue light is irritating bright. Western Digital and Seagate are equal. Personally, I go with Seagate drives because I had a bad experience with Western Digital service. Hopefully, you are not in the same boat if Mybook model automatically encrypts data with out your permission and data recovery will be impossible if it is.

    I use gmail and I don't get any of soliciting crap. You can unsubscribe by clicking on a unsubscribe button or link. I don't shop on black Friday and cyber Mondays because I don't want to support neither of these shopping holidays. I think it's wrong to shop on these days for people that work in retail.
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  13. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,297
    First Name:
    Mark
    I use several different methods to do this. I use Plex Server on my PC as a media server for my local (home) network. I also have a WD MyCloud device that has a media server built in. Additionally, my Asus router has USB ports that I've got a WD MyBook connected to. I use Roku devices on all my TVs for streaming and play videos on any/all of them. The Roku box in the living room has a USB port that can use a flash drive or external drive with media on it. It's a great setup! So simple to use that my 7 year-old granddaughter has it mastered! ;-)
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  14. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    THanks for the recommendations. I did opt out of all those emails. A few still trickle in but eventually they will stop.
    Thanks for the recommendation on the enclosure.

    OK, Gr3iz. Come again with that?
    (sorry, these could be stupid questions, I don't know what I am doing)

    Does your Roku device cost a monthly fee, or is it a one-and-done deal? Does the Roku device cause my computer to recognize the TV as a seperate monitor. So I could compute on my PC monitor, and watch movies on the TV at the same time. What about Codecs, would my computer be the one with the codecs so the Roku could play a video in pretty much any format (avi, mp3, mkv, etc) as long as the proper codec was on my computer. Or would there be translation problems?
    (right now I can plug in a flash drive and play movies but they need to be in AVI format or it will not work, that is from my DVD player)
    Roku would play all my WW2 documentaries from the hard drive? So it would not need to be Roku provided movies, it would play mine too.
    (If I cannot revive this drive I will have lost some of them, but the best ones were backed up on another drive, so it is not a complete loss)

    A guy in the store told me that if I cannot get my computer to recognize my TV as a seperate monitor, I would not be able to send that app to the TV only. I would have to leave it open on my computer too. Thus making computing impossible. If I minimized the streaming program computer apparently it would also be minimized on the TV too.
    But again, I don't know what is going on, so I may have heard incorrectly or he may be wrong, or any number of things could have went wrong when I was hearing him.
     
  15. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94,297
    First Name:
    Mark
    The Roku devices are a one-time purchase. They offer Roku-Sticks that are Wi-Fi only devices that are a bit larger than a flash drive. They plug into an HDMI port on the TV and are powered by USB (either from the TV itself or with an external 5v power supply provided). There's also a Roku settop box (about 4" x 4"x 1") that can use Wi-Fi or wired Ethernet. I use the Ethernet connection for better speed. They connect to your home network. They are streaming devices, not directly connected to your PC. In addition to your local programming (stuff from your HDD), you can use services like Sling or Hulu to view "cable channels", other services that provide hundreds of other (mostly free) "channels" and music services (Pandora, IHeartRadio, SiriusXM, etc.).
    To play local content (from your HDD, for example), you'd need a media server of some sort. As I said above, you can use something like Plex, which uses your PC as a media server, or maybe your router has USB ports that allow its use as a media server. I also have a WD MyCloud external drive that has a media server built in.
    Video needs to be in either .mkv or .mp4 format. (I've used Handbrake to convert my videos from .avi to .mkv when necessary.) I've used audio in both .mp3 and .flac formats. You can also view photos in .jpg format.
    This does not use your TV as a monitor. You are free to watch TV while using your computer and way you want. I'm doing that right now!
     
    tonyacardo likes this.
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1220041

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice