1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WD Passport help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by godzilla3737, Jul 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. godzilla3737

    godzilla3737 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I bought a WD Passport. Is it suppose to be like a plug and play drive? I plug mine in but when I copy paste file to the drive it always find one file missing and stops the transfer. Not one transfer works till the end. What am I doing wrong? Any idea?
    Thanks

    I am running xp
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It's always a good idea with a new drive to repartition and format it in Disk Management.
     
  3. godzilla3737

    godzilla3737 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Should it not be a simple plug and play? Where is the disk management to do this?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Right-click My Computer, Manage, Disk Management.

    You will see all your drives there. Because the drive was prepartitioned by an unknown method of questionable effectiveness, right-click your new drive. Remove all the partitions so that the entire drive is unallocated, unpartitioned space. Then, right-click again and create one or more partitions. Then again, and format as NTFS (or FAT32 if you plan on using the drive on a system that can't read NTFS).

    You can also assign whatever drive letter you choose.
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You shouldn't need to repartition or format the drive. In fact it comes with some software pre-loaded that you'll lose if you do that. If the drive is showing in My Computer and in Drive Management, it may just be a defective drive. Did you try it on more than one computer?
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Though there may no need for repartitioning and reformatting, I think this is a good idea to insure compatibilty. It is better to do it now than to have the drive disappear when loaded with data.
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I have a WD Passport drive, Elvandil, and there is no need to format and repartition it out of the box. There is no compatibility issues. It's a FAT32 drive. Ready to go.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    My 120gig 2.5" passport drive came formatted NTFS.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I may be erring on the side of safety, but if you look at the number of drives that have "disappeared" when people used the drives out-of-the-box, and which had no further problems after being partitioned and formatted by the OS, I think you may begin to agree with me.

    NTFS formatting is still a mysterious science and MS has not released detailed information about that file system. Witness the number of years that the Linux people have been trying to develop a driver that is compatible with the file system. I don't believe that manufacturer's formatting is as good as that of the native operating system's. I may be wrong, but this simple step, if it saves future problems, seems well worth the trouble. This is far more true of NTFS than the well-known FAT32.

    This is also an opportunity to insure that the partition tables are intact. Windows in general, and XP in particular, can run perfectly well on partitions containing certain types of errors. But later when using partitioning software, these small errors or copy differences can lead to some of the more common errors we see with Partition Magic and other software.

    In any case, that drive would be safer as NTFS, anyway.
     
  10. godzilla3737

    godzilla3737 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I think this is the problem. It does not get enough power. I tried it on another computer an older one and it works fine. I have tried it on a new one and it doesnt. I think it is not getting enough power. I unplugged all USB cable from the comuter and just plugged in the WD and still the light flashes and no drive. I tried the front and rear USB ports still nothing. Both systems are running the same OP Systems. I tried it on the old one works perfect. The new one it flashes and clicks but no start up. Someone said try a double usb end cable and see if that works. I havent yet. I think it should work with out it. Any opinions. I have never had any problems before with the newer computer so this is rare.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The double-ended cable will solve the problem. I have several 2.5" USB drives, including a WD Passport. As it turns out, the Passport is the only one that works with a single USB connection, all the others need dual.

    WD sells the dual-headed cable as an accessory for that drive.
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    How does that work? Are there 2 connectors to double power input?
     
  13. godzilla3737

    godzilla3737 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Correct, many drives won't spin up on 1/2A of 5V.
     
  15. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Makes sense. So, it shouldn't be too difficult to make your own cable by just cutting the conductors that don't carry power? Are there 2 input jacks on the Passport, or does this adapter cable split?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597627

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice