Weather.com/Casino Pop-up/Freeze

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
When accessing weather.com and pop-up (Casino) comes up and buries itself under the weather page. Then when you exit the weather page the brower freezes up.

Also when doing cross-word puzzles in I-Village.com the browser freezes.

When doing the solitaire games that was supplied with the Windows 98 software, the browser freezes.

Any solutions on how to eliminate this problem?

:confused:
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cheryl
Sounds like you may have a problem with Microsofts Virtual Machine software. It sometimes gets corrupt and has to be repaired. Most of the time the eaisest way to fix it is doing an IE repair. If you have IE 5.0 and above go to the control panel and select add-remove programs. Scroll down to the Microsoft internet explorer 5.x highlight it and select remove. Then select repair when the popup appears. After repair restart system and
try IE again. You will have to reset your home page since the repair will set it to msnrunonce.
If that does not fix your problem then post back with more information such as IE version and update version that appear in help, about Internet Explorer.
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
I did what you told me - and I assume it worked as my home page was changed.

The process of "repairing" did not tell me if there was anything to repair. So we assume it did its work quietly.

Should this "repair" be done occasionally if I am having problems with freezing up?

Cheryl
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cheryl
IE is very complex and manifests its problems in many areas. Personally I do a repair whenever I suspect something is going wrong. It's quick, simple and cleans house while its at it. It is not a fix all but it sure is nice to have to fix many problems.
Did you try and go to the web pages in question to see if they work?
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
Our freezing problem persists. This afternoon it froze twice on the desktop and once while performing a scan on Ad-Aware. In addition we were unable to type in Outlook Express (nothing was locked on our keyboard) and we unfroze it by hitting Ctl/Alt/Dlt. Then we were able to type.

In add but the Outlook Express problem we were off line so the problem is a random one.

Any suggestions and/or solutions?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cheryl
Lets go a little deeper into this now and see if it may be a resource problem. Go to start\run and type in msinfo32
once menu appears click the plus sign next to software enviroment in left pane and then scroll down and click on startup programs. Once list appears in right pane click edit up top and then select all and then copy. Now come back here and post the info you copied.
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
MCAgentExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcagent.exe
MCUpdateExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcupdate.exe /embedding
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrtcl.exe
RealTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\realplay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
Encompass_ENCMONTR Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Easy Internet\ENCMONTR.EXE
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Service) c:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrte.exe
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
While I was waiting for your reply I went into Outlook Express to see if I got notification and I noticed I was kicked off the internet. All of a sudden my browser was uncontrollable - and flew off the screen. I could not get the arrow back and I tried a ctl/alt/dlt and that didn't work either. I had to shutdown the wrong way by shutting off the computer and then restarting it and go through the scan.

Just thought you should know.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cheryl

Here are items you can safely remove from startup.
Also I noted how lean your startup group is already. Have you removed other items before?
Can be removed from startup
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
RealTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\realplay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
Encompass_ENCMONTR Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Easy Internet\ENCMONTR.EXE

Go to start\run type in msconfig and uncheck those listed above click apply click ok and restart system.

See if problem goes away.

I problem still persists then There have been reported problems with McAfee antivirus that may ultimatly be your culprit.
Listed below are McAfee items that start and run in you startup group. If problem still persists after above work then go back into your msconfig and uncheck the following: But stay off the internet because you will not have any antivirus running at all.
See if your problem goes away. If it does I would suggest uninstalling McAfee and finding another good antivirus program such as Norton, PcCillin or even AVG.

MCAgentExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcagent.exe
MCUpdateExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcupdate.exe /embedding
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrtcl.exe
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Service) c:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrte.exe

Keep us posted
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
missing from "msconfig" - start-up.

They are:

systemboothidplayer
internet\encmontr.exe

Why would those not be there? I did however uncheck the others.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cheryl
It could be the items nomenclature is truncated in msconfig.
We will check that later. I am concerned you may have a virus affecting your system please go to the link to housecall and run the online scanner. The browser flying off the screen makes me suspect.
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
Did the scan - and I do not have any viruses.

When I said the browser disappeared - I meant to say the arrow. Are they the same thing? (Senior Moment)
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
No Fortunatly the browser is not the same as the curser.
Ok continue on with the changes we made originally by removing
the items from msconfig. Run awhile and see if lockup still occur.
If so then uncheck the McAfee items click apply click ok and restart. Then try and get it to lock up. Remember after you shut down McAfee you will not have Antivirus protection or e-mail attachment protection. So be careful. Let us know you findings. I will check back later tonight and again tomorrow morning to see how its going.
Dave
 

Cheryl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
663
Dave: I just checked my msconfig - start-up and noticed that I have two idential things checked:

mgavrtclexe (C:\windows\mcbin\av\rt\mgavte.exe

Should only one be checked?

Also what about those other two items you wanted me to uncheck. Remember you said the nomenclature might be changed in start-up?

What anti-virus would you suggest that is excellent?

I can wait till tomorrow for answers...... you've got to be tired.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top