1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Web Design/Programming Pricing...

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by Gibble, Jan 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gibble

Gibble Thread Starter

Ok, I work as a programmer, and virtually everything I do is web application programming in ASP, .NET, etc...

Anyhow, I want to start moonlighting, but oddly my stumbling block isn't so much finding customers, it's knowing what to charge, and how to break it down for them.

Yes, I can tell someone it will $800 (or whatever), but I want to show them how I come to that price, or why it's a good price, because it's cheaper than if they paid for all the things I'd do individually.

Basically, I'm currently just looking for design websites that show what they charge for each of their services, and how they break down everything.

If you are a web designer, can you let me know how you break down your bill, or if you've had work done, let me know how you were charged. Or if you're bored and want to do a little surfing and see what you can come up with :)

It would help immensely. :D

Thanks
    --Gibbs

2. Gibble

Gibble Thread Starter

*bump*

3. brendandonhu

brendandonhu

Usually I estimate how many lines of code I will have to write. If its a small, simple project that any coder could do, I may charge less than a cent per line of code. For a larger, complicated project that required work & debugging I have gone as high as 6 cents per line of code. I don't actually charge the customer per line, I just estimate how long the program or script will be and give the person my quote. Of course, I'm an inexpensive coder so your approximate price/line will probably be higher.

4. Gibble

Gibble Thread Starter

Charging by line of code doesn't make much sense.