1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

web page doing strange things..

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by puter hater, Dec 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. puter hater

    puter hater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2000
    Messages:
    2,023
    I could of posted this in my last threat but its new subject so it deserves its own post.
    The web page that I was building is doing strange things. I am using their builder.
    Last night I accidentally deleted the cover page of the web page so I had to rebuild .I was able to recover most of it but came back scrambled. So Im resorting it out.
    This is the deal. when I redo something it is saving stuff that is not there. As you look at the web page it is not what I have in front of me. Is there a reason for this . No matter how much I delete and or save it is different then what I want.
    The Posse CLASSIFIED is to be together, on the builder it is but not on the page. The blue bullets are lined up correctly on the builder, but not on the page.
    Before posse Classified got twicked it was Monthly Log then it changed.
    This builder does allow over lapping.My whole day is a bust over this. Have already turned the page in for approval and its messed up.
    http://www.geocities.com/chinomountedposse/chinoposse.html

    <STRONG><FONT face="park avenue" color=darkorchid size=6>Puter<IMG src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/tsmileys/m.gif">Hater</FONT></STRONG>

    <FONT size=4><FONT face="Park Avenue" color=blueviolet><STRONG>I know enough to get into trouble but not enough to get out</STRONG></FONT><IMG src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/tsmileys/d.gif"></FONT>
     
  2. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Moving this to the Development Forum (it will remain here as well).
     
  3. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    puter hater----I'm not familiar with the software geocities uses to create web pages. However, it sound like you didn't delete all of the "cover page" (by this I think you mean homepage). If the complete homepage wasn't deleted then you're layering one page over another.
    Can you or did you copy the whole site to your computer? Or does geocities automatically make back-up copies?
    If so, it may be possible to rebulid the site page by page using the back-up copies. Of course any information posted after the last back-up will be lost and will have to be re-entered.
     
  4. puter hater

    puter hater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2000
    Messages:
    2,023
    I was able to recover the page by using a temp file that was located in my file manager on Geocities.

    I just renamed the temp file to the original file name that I lost"chinoposse". I got the file/page but when I got it back to rebuild everything was mixed up on the page so I had to put everything back on the page where it belong.
    When I accidentally deleted the original file I believe everything went with it so the ghost words really shouldn't be there.
    I can't see or fine where the ghost word are coming from in order to delete.


    <STRONG><FONT face="park avenue" color=darkorchid size=6>Puter<IMG src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mesg/tsmileys/m.gif">Hater</FONT></STRONG>
     
  5. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    That temp file probably has several pages overlaid in it. Everytime you updated the page it was written to the same temp file. What are you using to view the underlying HTML? I looked at geocities and essentially their program is a "WYSIWYG" program (What You See Is What You Get).
    The quickest way, I suspect, to solve the problem is to contact geocities and see if they can restore your site from one of their back-ups of their servers. Obviously, you want the back-up closest in date to the problem. You will have to update the site from there. Also ask them if they have a way for you to download your web site to your computer so that you can make your own back-up. (I have my web site backed-up in four different ways just to avoid this very problem).
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Man what a lot of formatting on the page. I would suggest rebuilding it using a real web page editor and using tables to seperate everything out. I saw some tables setup and they are all overlapping....weird. See if they will let you use an editor that won't put their ads in it and won't mess up your formatting. Seems your initial problem might be because it was saved to the wrong directory.....I do it all the time. There is also a link for "Next Page" near the bottom that has a bad URL in it. There are a few other pages with dead picture references too.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice