1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Web Page error keeps popping up.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by funnierthanme, Sep 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I have Windows XP and use IE 8. I also have Firefox installed, but it's been on my computer for over 2 years now. Today, I started receiving a web page message "TODO handle this case (ie can't repleace EB_toolbar_ID)" It keeps popping up no matter what webpage I am on. I've run my anti virus programs and they all come up clean. How do I get rid of it besides just X-ing it off?:confused:
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Please click here to download and install HijackThis.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile from the Main Menu.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything
     
  3. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I tried to download three times. After I click install, it won't.
     
  4. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe

    I got it. It was my mistake.
     
  5. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Should I go to websites that have personal financial information and delete it?
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Got what? That's a legitimate system file.

    Please post your HijackThis log.

    If you can't run it, try it after booting into Safe Mode.
     
  7. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I did get it to download and I copy and pasted one of the logs, but...


    Just now, I was typing a follow-up reply and the pop-up appeared, but every reply I wrote before this was erased. I have a new hard drive here. Should I have it installed, and should I go to websites that have my financial information and delete it? Thanks.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    If you can't paste it, try attaching the log instead.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    BTW, after I checked it's scan and it showed me the little blocks of each "file" scanned, none of the blocks were checked, so I couldn't have "fixed" anything if I wanted to. I think I'm in an awful mess and I don't know how I got here. Malwarebytes can't find anything, AVG can't find anything, and Spybot can't either. I have a new hard drive sitting here. Should I just have a computer guy install it and start all over?I don't really want to do this, because I'd have to download all the updates from Dell from years ago.

    I just checked the hijack scan you suggested again and here is the log I copied.
    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    I can't help you if you can't post your HijackThis log. However, at first glance, what you are describing doesn't seem malicious.
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    If you really can't get HijackThis to work,

    Please download and run Autoruns.

    Click on File.

    Click on Save…

    Save the new AutoRuns Data (*.arn) file to your desktop.

    Close the Autoruns program.

    Right-click on the new desktop AutoRuns .arn file.

    Select Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Attach the compressed file to your next post.
     
  12. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Should I still go to PayPal and Amazon just to be sure?
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Without knowing if your computer is infected or not, I cannot say. It's up to you.
     
  14. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Every time I try to do anything, the message pops up and erases anything I have tried to do. When I clicked on your link for Autoruns, the message appeared and I clicked it off. It erased everthing in my taskbar.
     
  15. funnierthanme

    funnierthanme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I don't know what is going on. You know I am a nerd for sure. Autoruns is on my desktop. How do I get it compressed?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/949620