1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

web surfing stalls.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by max 8, Dec 17, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. max 8

max 8 Thread Starter

Hi, I have a PCTel modem in my new computer that I'm told is the cheapest and worst modem in the world.
    I know that my ISP/tel dial up is ok since I've been using it for over 2 yrs.
    The problem w/ my new system is that it kinda stalls/freezes every 2 to 3 minutes for a least 10 seconds at a time where nothing happens and then the web page pops up.
    I'm thinking it can only be the modem's fault. what else since like I said I've been using the same phone line, tel# and ISP for over 2yrs now.
    I'm thinking of buying a US Robotics modem.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Max19

Max19 Account Disabled

Don't rule out problems with the ISP or the phone line just because you've been using the same ones for 2 years. Maybe the ISP changed a server or installed new software that isn't functioning properly. Maybe the phone company is working on the lines or is upgrading some equipment.

3. max 8

max 8 Thread Starter

thanks for responding but I'm sure it's not the ISP since I'm still using my older computer and it works just fine.
    when I say it web surfing stalls is that there is no response when you watch the download progress bar. nothing happens for abou 10seconds then the page starts loading. then everything works fine until after a few minutes later and then the long pause
    again.

4. beach51

beach51