1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Webcam compatibility problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jimbo99, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimbo99

jimbo99 Thread Starter

Hi, I'm new to this so I hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I recently bought a Chicony TwinkleCam webcam (USB), but when I install the driver and restart my computer I can no longer connect to the internet. My OS is Windows XP and I have a broadband connection via a router. I use an automatically obtained IP address provided by the DHCP server, but when I restart the computer the IP address and default gateway addresses have changed. Even if I try to enter the original addresses manually I still can't connect.

I restored the computer to the previous restore point and the problem stopped, so I am thinking that it must be the camera driver or something that occurs during the installation.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Hi and welcome. Per chance is the USB Controller sharing the same IRQ with the NIC card?

3. jimbo99

jimbo99 Thread Starter

I've just checked the IRQs, the USB controller is on IRQ 21 and the NIC is on IRQ 23, so I don't think that is the problem.

4. ~Candy~

Are you installing drivers for the camera from the disk that came with it? Or is XP finding them? Did you follow the installation intructions, some USB devices don't like to be plugged in until the setup is run.

5. ~Candy~

Did it say it was compatible with XP?????

6. jimbo99

jimbo99 Thread Starter

I installed the drivers from the CD which came with the webcam and I followed the installation instructions exactly, only connecting the USB cable when told to do so.

7. jimbo99

jimbo99 Thread Starter