1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Webcam not working

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by silverdoor24, Feb 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. silverdoor24

    silverdoor24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all,

    I've just bought a new Advent 9515 laptop which has an integrated webcam. But the webcam doesn't seem to be working? do i need to do something ?

    Thanks
     
  2. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    i see u have posted this in another place. asking twice wont get u help any faster. this post is in the right forum. the other one isnt.u might want to remove your other post.
     
  3. Zbrakkovich

    Zbrakkovich

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    I'll put my post from the wrong location here:

    Many laptops now come with an integrated webcam installed into the casing above the screen.

    What Operating System did the computer come with (XP, Vista, or another?) and what program are you trying to use the webcam with?
     
  4. silverdoor24

    silverdoor24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the replies.

    pishbloom2 I wasn't sure where the post should go, first time i've used a forum.

    Zbrakkovich thanks for the help. Its come with Vista and I was trying to use it with msn live messenger.
     
  5. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    hey its no problem. if your not sure which forum just ask it once and someone will be by to help u and will move it to the proper forum for u.
     
  6. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    just a suggestion. so many people on here have had numerous problems with windows live messenger. u might want to try another program like trillian basic which takes care of aim, yahoo, windows live, and icq.
     
  7. Zbrakkovich

    Zbrakkovich

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    I found a thread on Microsoft forums that may help you out. You can either read through it or find the post that's in red text and see if the fix works for you.
     
  8. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Trillian Basic doesn't support video - you need the Pro version for that.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Webcam working
  1. Rosestara
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    501
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/686797

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice