Webpage Design help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wausau99

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2001
Messages
260
I have created a website for the Boy Scout Troop that my son is in and one of the pages contains helpful links to other scouting sites. Is there a way to set up the links on the page so when they are clicked they open in a new browser window? I am using Microsoft Publisher 2000 to create and edit the website.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
2,281
In the < a > tag (i.e. anchor tag) add these words

target=_blank

For example, < a href = "http://forums.techguy.org" target=_blank > Techguy </ a >
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
<a href="http://forums.techguy.org" target=_blank>Techguy</a>

don't forget, html is still turned off here, so no fears in typing in the exact code!!;):D
 

wausau99

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2001
Messages
260
Randy,

Thanks alot. If I used this code for a link to another site, what would I put after the _blank> instead of Techguy</a> ?????
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
whatever link you wanted to appear

if you wanted to have a link going to www.myfavoriteboyscoutsite.com and have it display Boy Scouts instead of the url, then you would put <a href="http://www.myfavoriteboyscoutsite.com" target=_blank>Boy Scouts</a>

get it??

If you weant that link to display an image, instead of text, then use an img src tag where the Boy Scout text is.

<a href="http://www.myfavoriteboyscoutsite.com" target=_blank><img src="http://path.image.com/name.jpg"></a>
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
2,281
:D Thanks RandyG for pointing it out. I thought it wouldn't appear here at all if I keep it exact. So had to insert some extra spaces :)
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
and that's the only reason i pointed it out. the only real good benefit of having html turned off here is that you don't need to use the php code to keep it from being displayed.

Glad to have edumacated ya!!;):D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top