1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Website browsing security when using a 3rd party email address

Discussion in 'General Security' started by HelluvaGuy, Jan 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HelluvaGuy

HelluvaGuy Thread Starter

Hi Everyone,

I'm an independent consultant with my own laptop but have recently acquired a new client who wishes for me to use their email address (as opposed to my own company's email address) when communicating with customers as if I am an actual employee of this client. If I set the new email address up in my Outlook program, how secure is the information on my laptop? E.g. since the new company email will be communicating via their server, can this company view data on my laptop such as websites visited or even have access to my files?

I hope I have explained this question clearly and would welcome any advice.

Thank you.
    HelluvaGuy.

2. lunarlander

lunarlander

By just setting up an email address in Outlook will not enable the client company to do much except send you your emails.

But if you have to join their Domain, then they would have more powers.

3. HelluvaGuy

Thanks for the reply lunarlander. Can I just confirm....are you saying that as long as I don't have to connect to their server (or domain) to access email i.e. I continue to access the internet / email through my own provider, my privacy and laptop data is protected? I was just concerned that when I send email it will go via their server and this would give them access to my laptop content?

4. lunarlander

lunarlander