1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Website Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SARCS, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SARCS

    SARCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I have multiple Windows XP and Windows 7 machines. All of the XP machines are unable to connect to a specific website (www.nascar.com) and all the 7 machines connect just fine. All machines are on the same network.

    I have tried firewalls on, off, and uninstalled. I am the network designer and we have no proxy, blocks or routes for blocking.

    Have downgraded from IE 8 to IE 6 and also installed other browsers such as Firefox and Chrome and those do not work either.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,939
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm using Windows XP Professional SP3 and Internet Explorer 8 and high-speed cable in this desktop.

    That NASCAR site took several seconds to load(probably because of heavy network traffic), but it eventually fully loaded. (y)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. SARCS

    SARCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    This is the only page we have found so far, but it does not load at all no matter how long you let it sit. If you plug any of the XP machines into a different network, it loads just fine.
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    What browser are you using for XP and 7?

    Are they the same and are the Windows policies the same for XP and 7?
     
  5. SARCS

    SARCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    We have tried various browsers on the XP machines. The default was IE 8, same as Windows 7 machines. The policies are the default as we do not change them. Plug the machines into a different network and they work fine. I would lean towards a network issue, but then cannot explain why the Windows 7 machines work.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,939
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've requested your thread be moved to the NETWORKING section so the experts there can assist you better.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,205
    Moved to Networking :)

    Also, hiya Dan, long time no see. Hope you're well (y)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032287

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice