Website problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Hi
I'm running Windows XP and I'm hosting my website using IIS. My web site www.alexcreative.com is not working and I think it all started since I installed the new security patch from Windows update.
I'm going to try Apache or any other application like Apache to host my web site so I can determine if the problem is with IIS plus I can have it as an alternative :)

Can some one tell me of any other Apache like application that is compatible with Windows XP?

And is Apache pretty much my best choise to host my website in Windpows XP after IIS?

Thanks

Alex
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2000
Messages
114
for what it is worth:-

$ ping alexcreative.com
PING alexcreative.com (64.85.73.36): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=0 ttl=246 time=89.4 ms
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=1 ttl=246 time=89.0 ms
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=2 ttl=246 time=88.4 ms
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=3 ttl=246 time=91.3 ms
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=4 ttl=246 time=88.9 ms
64 bytes from 64.85.73.36: icmp_seq=5 ttl=246 time=88.3 ms

--- alexcreative.com ping statistics ---
6 packets transmitted, 6 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 88.3/89.2/91.3 ms
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Thanks TheWendyGuy :) That don't suppost to be my IP (64.85.73.36) My ip is 24.114.57.185, could be that my cable company changed the IP. I have to check on that
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2000
Messages
114
That could be related to your problem with your site then perhaps. Unless you are behind a router or something... IIS always needs to know the IP address that it is running on. Just my tuppence worth again
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
I called the cable company and I have the same IP and everything look the same, so I don't know where that IP number you gave me came from and why is not working if the IP is the same :(
 

TechGuy

Mike
Administrator
Joined
Feb 12, 1999
Messages
14,951
FYI, as of right now, alexcreative.com is going to 24.114.57.185 and working fine for me...
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Thanks Techguy this is weird, it always has the same IP and sometimes works other doesn't :( and I'm doing nothing diferent in my system
 

TechGuy

Mike
Administrator
Joined
Feb 12, 1999
Messages
14,951
Just noticed -- something is funny with your web server settings, I think. www.alexcreative.com doesn't work for me, it points to 64.85.73.36. However, alexcreative.com works and goes to the same IP.


Edit: scratch that. www... just started working for me, too. I don't know what would cause it to work only once in a while...
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2000
Messages
114
Tracing route to alexcreative.com [64.85.73.36]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

...........
7 70 ms 80 ms 80 ms Serial3-4.GW3.MSP1.ALTER.NET [157.130.99.245]
8 71 ms 80 ms 80 ms 153.at-1-1-0.XR1.MSP1.ALTER.NET [146.188.209.194
]
9 70 ms 81 ms 90 ms 327.at-2-0-0.XR1.CHI2.ALTER.NET [152.63.70.249]

10 80 ms 80 ms 80 ms 0.so-2-1-0.XL1.CHI2.ALTER.NET [152.63.67.129]
11 70 ms 80 ms 80 ms POS6-0.GW7.CHI2.ALTER.NET [152.63.67.189]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 90 ms 80 ms 91 ms bbr02-g2-0.okbr01.exodus.net [216.34.183.98]
14 80 ms 90 ms 91 ms bbr01-p4-0.ekgv01.exodus.net [206.79.9.10]
15 130 ms 130 ms 141 ms bbr02-p3-0.tkwl01.exodus.net [209.185.9.106]
16 130 ms 141 ms 130 ms dcr02-g6-0.tkwl01.exodus.net [216.34.64.178]
17 130 ms 131 ms 330 ms csr11-ve240.tkwl01.exodus.net [216.34.64.34]
18 130 ms 131 ms 130 ms 64.85.73.36
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2000
Messages
114
Some more info that I think is useful:-

Your whois info (from www.allwhois.com) shows:-


**************************
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.DOTSTERINC.COM 216.34.94.170
NS2.DOTSTERINC.COM 64.85.73.15
********************************


Now, reverse IP lookup shows (for the ....15 address)


*****************************************
WHOIS Query Result for 64.85.73.15:
Exodus Communications Inc. Seattle2 (SE2) (NETBLK-EC16-1)
2831 Mission College Blvd.
Santa Clara, CA 95112
US

Netname: EC16-1
Netblock: 64.85.64.0 - 64.85.127.255
Maintainer: EC16

Coordinator:
Center, Network Control (NOC44-ARIN) [email protected]
(888) 239-6387 (FAX) (888) 239-6387

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

DNS01.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.244
DNS02.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.245
DNS03.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.246
DNS04.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.247

ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
* Rwhois reassignment information for this block is available at:
* rwhois.exodus.net 4321

Record last updated on 16-Oct-2000.
Database last updated on 3-Jan-2002 19:56:04 EDT.
************************************************


And for the ....36 address that your site continually resolves to for me (including shelling to many servers aroudn the country first)....


************************************************
Exodus Communications Inc. Seattle2 (SE2) (NETBLK-EC16-1)
2831 Mission College Blvd.
Santa Clara, CA 95112
US

Netname: EC16-1
Netblock: 64.85.64.0 - 64.85.127.255
Maintainer: EC16

Coordinator:
Center, Network Control (NOC44-ARIN) [email protected]
(888) 239-6387 (FAX) (888) 239-6387

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

DNS01.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.244
DNS02.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.245
DNS03.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.246
DNS04.EXODUS.NET 209.1.222.247

ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
* Rwhois reassignment information for this block is available at:
* rwhois.exodus.net 4321

Record last updated on 16-Oct-2000.
Database last updated on 3-Jan-2002 19:56:04 EDT.
*****************************


I would try including this info in an email to exodus.net and see if they can shed any light on this. It looks like perhaps some sort of a routing issue with them...

Try emailing them. With a routing loop that I had on a site of mine a while ago I had help within a few hours of emailing the people that were responsible for my problem.
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
wow thanks TheWendyGuy a lot of info there :)

The only problem is that I don't kow what alot of that info means so how canI tell them where the problem is?

can you help me out to undertand a little of how to understand that info so I can call them and say this is happenning because of this :)

Thanks

Alex
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2000
Messages
114
Well I just tried your site again, and for the first time so far, the site came up. It is also now pointing to the correct IP.

Looks like it got resolved somewhere along the line by itself.

Usually though the trick is just to send an email to [email protected] and then wherever it looks like the problem is. If it is wrong they usually route it to the correct people.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top