Weird 98 Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tut2234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
34
This one may (Hopefully not) throw some of you for a loop, but I've never seen this happen before. Okay here's the situation.

I've re-installed Windows 98 se on my bosses computer after a quick format. The thing was running like "molasses in the wintertime". All Installation and driver installs went fine.....except one! The video card driver. His computer uses an ATI Radeon 7000 series driver, which I've successfully installed. However, Windows keeps saying it's found new hardware (the Generic VGA Driver). The system uses the Radeon system just fine, but the New Hardware wizard has to be cancelled everytime the computer is booted and it gets to be a major annoyance. Any ideas on a quick, easy fix would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
255
Is it possible theres an onboard graphics card on the computer. Check the back of the machines and look at the port where you plug in the monitor. If you can see another one of these somewhere else on the back then the machine has two graphics cards. Come back here if thats the case
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Is it possible that there is another, onboard video? If so, you may be able to disable it in the BIOS setup, or just install it and then disable it in Device Manager.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
rebelmusic said:
Is it possible theres an onboard graphics card on the computer. Check the back of the machines and look at the port where you plug in the monitor. If you can see another one of these somewhere else on the back then the machine has two graphics cards. Come back here if thats the case
Great minds....
 

tut2234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
34
It's a Compaq Presario (Older), but I don't recall seeing a second Video Port in the machine, I'll look into that tomorrow at work and let you know. Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Even if there is no port, letting it install and disabling it, if it works, will solve the problem at least until you can track it down in more detail. Or it may be a satisfactory solution. Though unlikely, it's possible that some other device is being recognized as a video card. Are the mainboard drivers, if needed, installed?
 

tut2234

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
34
I let it install then disabled it in hardware profiles. That seems to have done the trick. Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top