Weird IE 6 Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
I'm havin some explorer problems. If i go to http://rd.yahoo.com/geohome/m/*http://geocities.yahoo.com/stats for like viewing my sites when I login to geocities, i can't view it I always have to delete the http://rd.yahoo.com/geohome/m/* part i can leave the rest and it'll work but its getting annoying pasting the address in the bar and then having to delete part of it. I run WINdows ME with IE 6 can anyone help me out? I would put the link in my favorites if it only happend to that one site, but it doesn't. It occurs whenever I go to a redirection. I always gotta delete that first line before the actual link in the URL. I don't know what made it do this, but I have installed the latest updates and this still happens.
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
The whole point is to avoid having to add every single site to my favorites. I want to be able to just click the given links w/o having to edit the url every single time.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
860
"when I login to geocities, i can't view it "

what exactly does it do?

what does it say, any errors?


Microsoft is supposed to come out with IE6 Service Pack 1.
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
You know when you go to a site and it doesn't show up, well it gives me that whole page cannot be displayed junk. but when i try the exact same link on another computer, it works just fine and it goes to the site, but on this computer it gives me page cannot be displayed. I tried resetting everything to defaults for the explorer options and that didn't do the trick either.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
860
Is this an FTP site?

If it is:


On the Tools menu in Internet Explorer, click Internet Options, click the Advanced tab, and then click to clear the Show friendly HTTP error messages check box.

try that & post back.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
860
There's also a prolem with "InternetBOOST '99 "


If you have that installed you may want to uninstall and see what happens.
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
StartupList report, 1/18/2003, 2:22:50 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\RAR$EX00.538\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVSYNMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\ALOGSERV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPZTSB03.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\DCFSSVC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMON32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WEBSCANX.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\EFFICIENT NETWORKS\ENTERNET 300\APP\ENTERNET.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95_C0\AIM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KAZAA LITE\KAZAA.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\PROGRAMS\GHOST\GHOSTTOOL3.2.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINRAR\WINRAR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\RAR$EX00.538\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
ICSDCLT = C:\WINDOWS\rundll32.exe C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\icsdclt.dll,ICSClient
BJCFD = C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
nwiz = nwiz.exe /install
Alogserv = C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\alogserv.exe
HPDJ Taskbar Utility = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpztsb03.exe
QuickTime Task = "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
Dcfssvc = C:\WINDOWS\System32\Drivers\dcfssvc.exe
TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
LoadQM = loadqm.exe
IPInSightMonitor 01 = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMon32.exe"
DeadAIM = rundll32.exe C:\PROGRA~1\AIM95_C0\DeadAIM.ocm,ExportedCheckODLs

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
*StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
McAfeeVirusScanService = C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

msnmsgr = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 17/1/2003, 14:11:40)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\MSNMSGR.EXE
NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\MSGSLANG.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\powerpnt.ini=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\powerpnt.ini
C:\WINDOWS\wavemix.ini=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\wavemix.ini
C:\WINDOWS\tasks\desktop.ini=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\desktop.ini
C:\WINDOWS\win.ini=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\win.ini
C:\WINDOWS\system.ini=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\system.ini
C:\WINDOWS\USER.DAT=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\USER.DAT
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.DAT=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\SYSTEM.DAT
C:\WINDOWS\CLASSES.DAT=C:\_RESTORE\EXTRACT\CLASSES.DAT

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMMON\YCOMP5,0,8,0.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
McAfee.com Update Check 07142002194720.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1044/V31Controls/x86/mil/en/actsetup.cab

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[CRegistryDownload Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGDLOAD.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.paltalk.com/prod/RegDload.CAB

[Register Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HWUTILS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://content.hiwirenetworks.net/inbrowser/cabfiles/2.5.26/Hiwire.cab

[GigexCtrl ActiveX]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GIGEXAGENT.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.gigex.com/tv/igor/gigexagent.dll

[IEDial Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IEACCESS2.DLL
CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.com/download/Object/ieaccess2.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMMON\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yse/yinstmulti.cab

[YahooYMailTo Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YMMAPI.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/ymail/ymmapi.dll

[GSDACtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GSDA.DLL
CODEBASE = http://launch.gamespyarcade.com/software/launch/alaunch.cab

[FVLiteLoad Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\FVLITEX.DLL
CODEBASE = http://flipview.com/fvlite/fvliteY.cab

[RdxIE Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\IE_GROKSTER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.grokster.com/rdx/RdxIE.cab

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[RdxIE Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/301cf4ee88b67379f800/netzip/RdxIE2.cab

[Yahoo! Webcam Viewer Wrapper]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YVWRCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://chat.yahoo.com/cab/yvwrctl.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37592.7926273148

[download Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\VXPSPEEDDELIVERY.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.gigex.com/ActiveX/vxpspeeddelivery.dll

[MSN Chat Control 4.5]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT45.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 8,615 bytes
Report generated in 0.608 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only


ANd i tried that advanced options thing in the options. THat didn't do the trick.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
860
Well, I can't make no sense of it.It seems as though alot of people are having trouble with IE6.



Did you just get a "404" error?



That's all I know, but maybe someone who know more about it will come along,good luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top