1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Weird internet connection problem

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Tigerwout, Oct 14, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Long story short:
    some internet pages load real slow (from slow to unuable) and youtube videos won't load (but the page does) but twitch stream do work normally.
    Only on my PC in the network and on all browsers.


    I'v tried lost of things:
    reset router, reset network adapters, flush dns, used google dns.

    My PC:
    Windows 10 Home
    Gigabyte Z97-D3H
    Intel I7-4790K
    Geforce 980Ti

    ASk if you need more info.
    Any help is welcome and thanks in advance.
     
    GregoryR74 likes this.
  2. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    I fixed the problem once with forcing the ethernet adapter to use Gigabit force master mode, then after that ALL network adapters seemed to reboot and the problem was fixed. Until I started my PC again and the problem came back. I obviously tried doing this trick againg but iw won't work anymore.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    Is the network card built in or did you purchase a separate card?
     
  4. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    The ethernet port is the one from the motherboard but i have a PCI-e wifi card. Doesn't matter whether one of them or both are active, the problem still remains.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    Are you able to stay connected with Ethernet, or is WiFi the connection that you need?

    Also are you seeing this slowness with browsers or online games as well?
     
  6. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    I almost always use the Ethernet and there is no problem with conneting to the router and the internet.

    There's not really any difference with using the others browsers.
    As for games, also not really any problems have occured except for not being able to start a multiplayer game of Civ 6. There I just stayed in the game lobby after the game was supposed to start.
    Also, in the discord app, if I want to join a voice channel, I need to join and leave it a couple of times before i'm connected and after that it stops being connected after a time but still connected to the internet.

    Edit: Also the Elite Dangerous laucher won't lauch. After I fixed it the first time I tested this and then it did launch.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    Civ6 may be a firewall issue, or a port issue.

    OK, so the basics:

    Who and what is your internet providers / speed is?
    If you run a speed test, are you getting at least 80% of the speeds?
    What modem and router (if separate) do you have?
     
  8. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    We have service provider: Telenet and as options Whoppa, more specific for internet: inernet fiber 200 (a111089). So should give 200Mbps
    Speedtest gives me around 160Mbps. With the same cable, a speedtest on my laptop gives me 190Mbps.
    The cable is plugged in the modem : Wireless modem 3.0 (docsis) with firmware: eurodocsis 3.0

    An extra problem is that i can't login on some sites and capcha doesn't work either.
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    what websites can you not access?
     
  10. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Well, i can get on youtube but it's slow and the videos won't load at all.
    can't login at yahoo mail
    anything with captcha is impossible
    facebook loads but logging in takes litterally forever, same with humblebundle
    Bing loads fine but goolge is slow.

    It's not really not being able to access websites, it's more they load so slow that they're unusable and/or that i can't login (press login butto but nothing happens)
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    Captcha sites for me seems to have issues with caching. Try websites with capcha while in private (FireFox) or incognito mode (Chrome).

    Do you have any network security programs like Norton?
     
  12. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Nothing different with private mode. The message i get is: "cannot contact reCAPTCHA. Check your connection and try again."

    I have McAfee LiveSafe but i've tried shutting down the firewall there. Still the same problems.
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
  14. Tigerwout

    Tigerwout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Removing McAfee didn't help.

    I've tried Malwarebytes (free version) before and now again, it detects nothing.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    OK, since the speeds are good from the test, let's check your machine out for any other potential issues first. I will ask to get this moved to the Malware forum and they will assist. If they don't find anything then we will look at Windows and the hardware.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1234235

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice