1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Weird RAM Issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jackmtech, Sep 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jackmtech

    Jackmtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    i have a old ASUS P5E or P5E Deluxe LGA775 MOBO. For some weird reason it does not post (no beep no display) when there is some ram in it and when I take out the ram, it beeps that it detects no memory.
    Specs:
    Intel Pentium Dual-Core 1.80Ghz
    ASUS P5E x38 chipset MOBO
    RAM some cheap 1 gig sticks from an old HP DC7900.
    Another thing: the difference between the P5E and the Deluxe is the chipset as far as I know, P5E is x38 and the Deluxe is x48.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    ASUS P5E Motherboard
    ASUS P5E Deluxe Motherboard


    Both have 4 DIMM slots and support a maximum of 8 GB(2 GB X 4) of RAM.
    Both use 1.8 volt, Unbuffered, Non-ECC, DDR2-667/800 modules.

    The HP Compaq dc7900 uses modules with the same specs.
    If those 1 GB modules aren't working in your ASUS motherboard, I'm guessing it's a hardware issue.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019
  3. Jackmtech

    Jackmtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Could it be a BIOS Issue?
    I remeber reading somewhere this motherboard's BIOS would get corrupt over time.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    Without being there to see your computer and its hardware, it's impossible for me to know what the issue is.

    In my 22 years of using and servicing home computers, I've never heard of or seen a BIOS get corrupted.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,921
    Unless you did something to corrupt the bios ie bad flash, then no it is not going to "Corrupt" on it's own.
    Most likely a failed board or other hardware problem. That board is now 11yr old and not worth putting any money into fixing whatever is causing the problem.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice