Weird SMC router problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pancho

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2003
Messages
8
I have the SMC 7004AWBR router. I am having problems with the router locking up from time to time. Some nights it happens once, others it may happen once every hour. My network is as follows.

DSL -> 7004 -> 10/100 + 802.11

It doesn't seem like a DSL issue since the modem never loses sync. Also the PC's never indicate a loss of the network conection and if I am on the 10/100 wire, the status light on the router never indicates a loss of connection. The problem is that everything I may be doing will stop working. My online game will lose connection, I run teamspeak and that freezes up and disconnects. My instant messaging dies, web browser hangs too. The only way I can fix it is to unplug the router from power and then plug it back in. (there isnt a reset button that I am aware of) This is starting to cause me a lot of hassle as I use my connection to play games like DAOC, UO, etc. The disconnects can cause me a lot of problems as they sometimes occur at very inopporune times. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how i can figure out what is going on? I am about to just trash the router and go buy a new one.

Pancho
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
644
I had a similar problem - my internet connection would inexplicably stop - some sites, first, then more, then couldn't get on anything. Reset the router and everything fine again. This happened over a period of a few days.

I found an update for my network card was due & downloaded that. Since then (fingers xxxx) things have worked as normal again.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
644
Something else to check would be to connect directly to your DSL without the router just to eliminate problems other than the router as the cause
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I had a problem like this with a SMC router, the 7004AWBR, it happened every couple of weeks. I'd go in and check status, and it would say I was connected, but I wasn't. Resetting the router would get everything going again.

A firmware upgrade fixed this problem for me.
 

Pancho

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2003
Messages
8
I finally got a response from SMC too. They mailed me new firmware and it seems like the problem has gotten better. I haven't had to reset my router much at all in the last week or so. Thanks for the replies.

Pancho
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
343
Power supply problems (mains not DC) can also cause problems with having to reset / reboot this particular router, as can microwave interference, if you have a UPS, try powering the router from that instead
Cheers,
10forcash
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top