1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Weird Standby Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tonedeaf, Feb 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tonedeaf

Tonedeaf Thread Starter

This is my first time asking a question on this forum so hopefully I can get an answer to this.

I have just built a second PC, PIII Slot 1, New case and powersupply, 2 Harddrives, CDrom, floppy, generic video, generic sound, generic NIC.

The problem I am having is that the PC keeps wanting to go into Standby at different times. Sometimes when it is starting up and sometimes when I am just surfing the net. Other times when it is just sitting for a few minutes. No rhyme or reason. When it goes to standby the harddrives shut down and the monitor goes off. The power supply fan stays on and the system fan stays on. If I hit the mouse button it will initiate again but what a pain this is.

I have been through the POwer Management and all of the options are to "never". I have checked my BIOS and anything to do with POwer management is disabled.

Any ideas? Please help.

Thanks in advance.

Tone

2. Jtoast

Jtoast

Have you checked your temps to make sure the cpu isnt overheating and shutting down your system?

3. Tonedeaf

Tonedeaf Thread Starter

I haven't done that. That is in BIOS I assume? How would I know that the processor is getting too hot? I have a case fan blowing right on it. The processor does not have a heat sink on it just for FYI. NOt sure if that makes a difference or not.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Tone

4. pronute

pronute