Weird typing errors

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pcb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
69
Please can anyone help me:
Just recently I have started to experience weird typo errors, which can be eradicated (temporarily) by restarting the computer (running Windows98se, with MS Internet Keyboard -IntelliType pro).
For example..after using caps, caps remain after taking finger off shift key. Can be sorted out by using caps again.
..highlighting text cannot be controlled (all type is selected).
.. selecting a desktop shortcut can entail all being selected.
.. using the back (arrow) key can leave numbers inserted at random!
....and other strange effects.

Many thanks for any help.

PcB.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

Welcome to the board!

It might be a good idea to run an online virus scan, even if it'll serve only to exclude that possibility: <A HREF="http://housecall.antivirus.com/">Trend Micro HouseCall </A>
Good luck,
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi pcb, welcome from me as well....

When this starts happening, right click on my computer, properties, performance. What are your system resources?

Also, do you have another keyboard you can try, and are your drivers the most current?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

You might also want to try uninstalling any software that came with the keyboard. I purchased a keyboard similar to yours, and experienced a great deal of problems relating to the "hotkey" utility that I received with the keyboard.
This is provided that you recevied any software with this keyboard.

Good Luck

:)
 

pcb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
69
Thanks Toni & AcaCandy for your replies & welcomes,

no Virus, but interestingly - low resourses ( 35% ) and I've
only 2 IExplorer windws open!
I have had lower RESoURSES THAN THIS though, with no probs whatsever.

MY SYSTEM:

AMD Athlon 1.2 Ghz
Asus A7A266 MoBo
Ali Magik 1 chipset
256 MB DDR memory
LeadtekWinfast Geforce2 pro (NVidia Geforce2 pro) . Driver-Detonator3 v12.41
Pioneer-116 DVD ROM (16X ?)
Award Medallion Bios version 6.0
Asus A7A266 ACPI Bios revision 1002B
Creative soundblaster PCI 128 . Driver - 4.12.01.2003
DirectX 8 (4.08.00.0400)
Windows 98se 4.10.2222A

Any ideas what to do?

thanks once again.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Just for fun, take a look at what you have running at startup....

Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok....go to software, start up....edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
 

pcb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
69
Thanks for input, Columbo & AcaCANDY ( it's at it again!)



Actually, I hadn't mentioned before what I suspect may be the cause- recently, I started using a file clean-up program and deleted the "unnecessary Files" that were found. Most of the files are Temp, but the following might be related:-

~ep1270.idb
" " .idp
" " .obd
" " . obp
~EP1275.eja
ctmixenq.GID
CTRec.GID

I saved all the deleted files, but put them in a special folder in Recycle bin, & now cannot restore them automatically,if needed.
It's quite possible that all these files are "unnecessary"- I am not an expert. I would like to find that they are so I can continue using the clean-up program with confidence.

Any other possible causes?


Thanks,
PcB
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

Is there any software utility on your system that is related to the keyboard? :confused:
And....
Have you tried using another keyboard, (as per AcaCandy's suggestion)?

I don't think that deleting anything from your temp folder would cause this problem.
 

pcb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
69
Thanks Columbo,

I have no other keyboard, though will try to borrow one if unable to solve this otherwise.

And yes, I do have a key logger, but have been using it for quite some time with no problems.

Will try disabling it.

cheers,

PcB.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Go into the Control Panel and then into Accessibility Tools. Something like that. Make sure all options are disabled. Sticky Keys or something similar might be enabled.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top