welcome screen in xp home

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dglass

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
8
xp home comes up to sign on screen with 4 usres I click on any user and then it goes to log on but logs off saying saving settings it does this for all 4 users. I have tried safe mode same thing, I have tried last know good config. same thing. Anything else I can try would be greatly appreciated.

No HJT since I can not get into the computer.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
2,312
Boot the system using the Windows XP CD-ROM. In the first screen when the Setup begins, read the instructions press "R" (in the first screen) enter the Recovery Console. Type-in the built-in Administrator password to enter the Console. You'll see the prompt reading C:\Windows (Or any other drive-letter where you've installed XP)

Type the following command and press Enter.

CD SYSTEM32
(If that does not work, try CHDIR SYSTEM32)

COPY USERINIT.EXE WSAUPDATER.EXE

Quit Recovery Console by typing EXIT and restart Windows.

You'll be able to login successfully as you've created the wsaupdater.exe file (now, a copy of userinit.exe)

Now, change the USERINIT value in the registry. Click Start, Run and type REGEDIT. Navigate to:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]

In the right-pane, change the value of Userinit to "C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,"

Type the above value exactly as given, including the comma - exclude the quotes. Also, change the path to userinit.exe appropriately, if Windows is installed in a different drive.

Close Registry Editor and restart Windows.
 

Dglass

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
8
I followed your instructions and then it booted up but after I was up and running I decided to shut down and restart. Now it is back to doing the same thing. Any ideas? Thank you for the help so far.
 

Dglass

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
8
I believe I typed in the right line. Is there any way to check since I can't get into windows?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
2,312
I don't think so, not without going throught the process again.

If you typed it correctly it should look like this...

C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

no quotes.
 

Dglass

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
8
I went back and checked and everything is running fine. Thank you and have a great day.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top