1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

went blank screen, wants to fix but just giving a blank screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by megz_winn, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    This is a HP G70-227CL notebook pc, he has had it for a little over a year. He was on his email today and all of a sudden it went to a black screen and froze up. He rebooted it and when it restarted it gave us two options to restart normally or to let it fix the problem which was recomended and so we let it fix it.
    It sat for about an hour or more with a black screen while we waited finaly changed to a dark blue then light blue then finally a box came up and wanted us to click on a opering drive below to fix the problem, but there was no operating drive listed in the box below.
    It then said in the bottom to click load if nothing there, so we clicked load and it wanted us to insert an installation disk to load the drive and he had never got no instalation disks when he purchased the laptop. It took him about 20 min before he could get out of it, it was moving very very slow and not wanting to respond. It ended up shutting itself off and when it came back on it asked us again which option we wanted we tried the normal hoping it would give us something besides a blank screen, it started to come on normally then it jumped back to the first screen to give us the options again. it ended up deciding for itself to do the recomended option before we could click on anything and went back to a black screen. That is how it sits now, we have a white mouse arrow on the screen we can move around, it dont act frozen no more, but al lit has is a black screen.
    We need this fixed we have things on that laptop business related we have not got put on back ups yet.
    We are using my computer to find a answer because with the black screen we can't do nothing with the laptop

    THank you
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    So when you reboot the machine, the only thing you're getting is a black screen and the cursor? No white text, error messages, anything?
     
  4. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    when it reboots it flashs the hp screen very quickly where if I am quick I could hit esc for start up then it has a long white bar on the bottom says windows laoding files that lasts a while. than flashes a window screen very quickly and then goes black. And when it goes black I get the white curser that moves freely.
    I was getting the option to start normally or to fix which was recomended I had hit the fix the last time and now after we let it sit for 30 or more min it will bring up a light blue screen, and that is how it is sitting now.
    We have been using it almost everyday and it has been working great then all of a sudden today it had this little meltdown, we never had any signs of a problem before now.
     
  5. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    I suggest trying to access Safe Mode and seeing if the problem persists.

    How to Access Safe Mode


    While the computer is turning on, tap F8 once every second until a black screen with white text appears. Using your arrow keys highlight the option Safe Mode and hit Enter.
     
  6. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I was able to get into and access the safe mode. It went through loading files. It came up and said please wait. After that it went back to a black screen each of the four corners on the screen say safe mode at the top of the screen is says
    Microsoft (R) Windows (R) (Build 6001:Service Pack 1)
    I once again have have the white mouse I can move around the screen but it remainds black and shows no sign of thinking (such as the light blinking or anything)
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    So you're able to access Safe Mode, but you're not able to navigate throughout Windows? Only the four corners pop up?
     
  8. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    All that comes up is as I said, it says safemode in all 4 corners and the mircrosoft message at top and the window button on keyboard brings nothing up, there is nothing to click on just a blank screen, and I can move the mouse. That is all that keeps coming up
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    Ok, well obviously there is a big issue if you're unable to access even Safe Mode. What I suggest you do next is locate your Vista CD and do a Repair Installation.

    Step by Step (with pictures):
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial148.html#automatic

    Make sure that you click "Repair Your Computer" option like that shown in Figure 2.

    If this doesn't work, there are more tools available on the CD to get things back to working order. If those don't work, a clean installation (where you will lose all your data) may be needed.
     
  10. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    The problem with that is he got a good deal on the laptop from *Walmart* and it came with nothing. Everything was already installed and it came with just the laptop set up and ready and the power cable. (maybe that is why he got a good deal on it ???)

    Can we order that vista cd, or is a best bet just finding a local computer doctor and letting them have a run at it.
    I had a compaq laptop for awhile and it had I think 6 recovery discs. So it is weird this came with nothing.
     
  11. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    Well, some computers come with recovery disks, some do not. In fact, most new ones do not.

    And a recovery CD isn't what I was looking for, but the Vista CD. The one with the operating system on it was what I was hoping for.

    At this point you have two options: Either bringing it to a local computer shop or contacting the manufacturer and ordering a recovery CD. But note, with a recovery CD, all data will be lost.
     
  12. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I had to do a recovery on my compaq after its harddrive crashed and lost it all.

    We might try to contact them and see if we can get a vista cd, if we can't we will check into some computer shops
     
  13. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,220
    You're most likely not going to be able to get a Vista CD from the manufacturer, but it is likely you will be able to get a Recovery CD. Note that these are two very different things and don't make the error of thinking they are synonymous terms.
     
  14. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    Actually you should be ale to get the Factory Restoration Disc from HP and relatively cheap too. Usually around the $20-$25 (US) range.
     
  15. megz_winn

    megz_winn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have left it sit with the light blue screen on and it came up and wanted to know what country i told it usa and hit next,
    now it has that system recovery box back again and still no operating system down below to click on.

    I think it might just need a computer shop idk
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/929340