Westell Modem Help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GuyWithAProblem

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
I just bought a Westell modem 6100 model online, and when I try to change the profile, I get a message saying: The server 192.168.1.1:80 requires a username and password. The server says: Modem Secure."

What can I do to fix this?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Put in the name and password.

It should be in the documentation. Maybe admin:admin
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What happens when you try to log in with the name and password?

What does "Doesn't work" mean?
 

GuyWithAProblem

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
There is no "login" area, just a prompt when I hit the only button on the page; the "Profile Editor" button. When I click that, I get a pop-up window with a login page. When I attempt to login with anything, it says, "The server 192.168.1.1:80 requires a username and password. The server says: Modem Secure."
 

GuyWithAProblem

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Sorry, forgot to mention that it is a used unit from a person off eBay. Is it a password THEY added?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,428
Were you able to get a manual using that link DoubleHelix supplied? Were you able to reset the modem/router to factory default settings? Did the default User Name/Password work?
 

GuyWithAProblem

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
No manual is available for this model. I was not able to reset the password. The default username password was incorrect. I contacted the previous owner and he said it should be default, as he didn't set one. This specific model is designed for Verizon and all support for this modem is ran by them. They don't even have Verizon here. I use Centurylink. Guess this is a bogus modem and I can't use it.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Why did you buy a Verizon DSL modem if you have Centurylink service? I'm sure the modem works just fine -- if used with the service it was intended for.
 

GuyWithAProblem

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Ya, I bought a modem for another company than that of which I use...if I had known that from the get go, I would have not purchased it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top