1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What am I doing Wrong

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by regerror, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. regerror

regerror Thread Starter

I was starting to have problems with a 3 year old Compaq Presario so I though I would try to upgrade some parts. Now my computer will not boot up or even post.

First I got a new motherboard and power supply. Then I tried new memory. Then I tried a new processor. Now none of any of my new or old parts will boot in any combination. I am very close to tossing the whole mess in the trash and rebuilding with a new core 2 system.

This is my first attempt at messing with hardware and it is going badly.

Please help me if you can.

2. Courtneyc

Courtneyc

...because you broke the golden rule on upgrading....Upgrade Only One Thing At A Time! If you don't follow this rule, well, you already know. You have no idea what works and what doesn't.

Start from the beginning. Put all the old stuff back and boot up. If it still doesn't work (and it worked before), you may have broken something.

Good luck

Courtney

3. regerror

regerror Thread Starter

I have put the computer back together using every possible combination of new and/or old parts. The old board gives off memory error beeps and the case and processor fans run at full speed on both boards, thats it.

I wonder if there is any way to test a power supply. I think that my new one might have screwed up both my boards. Either that or I had some kinda static shock or grounding problem as I am putting this thing together on a steal table.

at any rate something must be broke.

4. tecknomage

tecknomage

Your power supply idea (damaging motherboard) could be, which means you made a very expensive mistake.