1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

what are the commands for config.sys?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by indigowindow, Dec 23, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. indigowindow

    indigowindow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    what are the 2 commands that are usually in config.sys? one of them is himem something and the other involves 386.
     
  2. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  4. indigowindow

    indigowindow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    since i have the soundblaster live! card, what should i do about the commands in config.sys? right now there are none, and one of the drivers isn't loading. does it even need to load? reading the pcforrest link gave me a headache.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  6. indigowindow

    indigowindow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    i read that. it was linked to the pcforrest link.
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    And adding the two lines to your autoexec didn't do the trick?
     
  8. indigowindow

    indigowindow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    those lines are for config.sys. i haven't put them in yet, as i'm not sure if i need them. maybe it's better that the emu10k1.vxd doesn't load. but i wanted to know what those lines were, in case i needed to add them back.
     
  9. Paul Nagel

    Paul Nagel

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,843
  10. indigowindow

    indigowindow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    211
    replacing that emu10k1.vxd leaves me with no sound. i may have the drivers mixed up: the emu10k1 is always listed in directx diagnostic as uncertified. the sb16 emulation driver is the one that doesn't load. i'm not sure if they're the same thing. anyway, i went back to the original emu10k1.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62724

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice