What are you using for backups?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stranglehold

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2003
Messages
404
I have been using TaskZip, and am pretty pleased with it, but there are times when I wonder if there are better programs out there.

Preference is given to freeware or shareware.

It has to be able to run automatically.

Also, are there any nice batch file type programs that can automate some file moves and transfers? I can write a dos batch file, but that is a little outdated. :D Something windows based, perhaps?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
i have a powertool which just copies files
synctoy

works great onto portable harddrive

anything else I want i often backup manually onto 2 DVD
 

stranglehold

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2003
Messages
404
I am liking the looks of the Cobain Backup. Thanks

I have an older copy of Norton Ghost that I use from time to time. Are you familiar with it? How does the Acronis compare in your opinion?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
GHOST, and especially the older versions, has issues with some networks and USB drives. Acronis True Image will handle almost any combination of local, external, and network drives for backup and restore. As long as you have a separate disk that GHOST will access, it works fine for image backups, I used it for years.
 

redoak

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
6,781
etaf: How do you do this: "anything else I want i often backup manually onto 2 DVD." I recently found that my "C" drive" is too large for one DVD, maybe even two. Some instructions would be greatly appreciated by this novice. Perhaps you know of a reference.

Thanks, {redoak}
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
i dont back up the system - just the data files
I make sure I keep everything in my documents and dont let applications use thier directory for my data files

I use outlook with Gmail - so I keep a backup on gmail of my emails.
I also copy the .pst file each week - thats the only file that I did not put into My Documents and left in the default outlook folder

Not a true backup methodology - but I have found it OK for things like digital Images, word documents, and email.
 

redoak

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
6,781
Thanks for the reply. I do back up my entire system to a XHDD with "True Image," so I do have a backup. I was interested in trying same to DVD, but, as I said, the system files, plus programs, are to large for one.
{redoak}
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top