1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What can I do about a boot sector virus?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ChrisJ, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChrisJ

ChrisJ Thread Starter

What exactly is a boot sector virus, how do you get it and get rid of it, and what does it do? A friend said something about fluxing(sp?) the hard drive but neither of us really know much about that, has anyone else heard of fluxing a hard drive? Thanks to all who took a sec to read through this.

2. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge It's My Birthday!

I am not an expert on this; but, I will tell you what I know.

First, I haven't seen a new boot sector virus in about two years or more. If you've gotten one, my guess is you've gotten into something old.

A boot-sector virus is simply a virus that installs itself into the boot sector of the disk (floppy or hard) as opposed to any other folder on the disk. It can have any number of attributes and can be either malicious or just a prankster or joke program.

To know any more, you'll have to identify the particular virus.

3. n2gun

n2gun

4. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

It depends on which O/S you run. For Win9X, it's as simple as FDISK /MBR from your boot floppy. You can do that on W2K/WXP as well, but then you have to boot the recovery console and fix the boot files for the O/S.

5. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

Some friends of mine were given some old company machines and a bunch of floppy disks....floppies were infected with the NYB boot sector virus, and they did not know how to use Norton AV that came on their new Gateway...you guessed, kid put a floppy into the brand new Gateway and totally locked it up,
    SYSTEM HALTED!
    as, they did not know how to quarantine the virus.