1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What do I need to know when buying a cpu?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by btp.kickoff, Aug 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    I Understand installing a cpu well enough. Never force it in and make sure the gel is touching the heatsink, etc but what do I need to know about wether it will work with my computer?
    I am not sure what motherboard I have and I have downloaded "Cpuz" and "Aida" and neither can tell me.
    My CPU I have currently is intel pentium e2140
    Code name Conroe
    package socket 775 lga.

    That is according to CPUZ.
    If you need to know anything else let me know.

    I am just wondering if there is anything specific other than an amd won't work with my motherboard when buying a CPU.

    Thanks a Bunch
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,618
    Is this a brand name system and if it is then what is the make and model of the system?

    Oh and AIDA is pretty much obsolete. Try Everest or SIW: http://www.gtopala.com/
     
  3. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Sorry, I don't understand the question.
    Is what a brand name system? Are you referring to my operating system, in wich case it is microsoft vista.
    I'm talking about buying a brand new cpu and how to know what ones will fit my motherboard.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,618
    I was referring to your computer. Is it a Dell, HP, Acer, etc?

    Have you tried SIW to see if it can identify the motherboard?
     
  5. jamesh2923

    jamesh2923

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Knowing the make and model of your system (if it is a commerical system) will help to determine what CPU will work in the MB. If it is a homebrew system than you would already know the answer to your question.
    The other step to take is to look on the MB for maker, part number and serial number.
    Two MD can appear to be the same but support different CPUs.
     
  6. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    I just tried SIW and it just says "To Be Filled By O.E.M"
    And the make of the computer is an NEC POWERMATE V6130, It's about a year old from a few days ago.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,618
    Yikes, an NEC. System's built by these big brand names usually are hard to find CPU upgrade info for, and sometimes none is available and support is quite limited in any case.

    What country was the computer bought in? The two NEC sites that even list a V series, the links don't work and almost nothing shows up in a Google search for Powermate V6130.

    You may want to take the side off the case and see if there are any markings on the actual mainboard as to the model of the board.
     
  8. jamesh2923

    jamesh2923

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Info on this rev of the Powermate is a little thin.
    It appears that this version VL6 will only support a Intel P4.
     
  9. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    I have tried looking on the board and all it says is ga-t671mf
    I googled it and found nothing.
     
  10. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    I have a socket 775 LGA intel cpu, so would any other lga 775 socket cpu work?
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    No. The mb bios must support the particular cpu. Without detailed info, you really do not know if it will support whatever cpu you want or not.
    Most big box systems [dell, hp, etc] are not really upgradeable in any real sense. Even if the board would support the cpu you want, most systems ship with a pw supply that is just enough for the system as shipped. If you attempt to install any parts that need more power like a high end video card, cpu that uses more watts, etc; you have problems.
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    BTW that looks like a gigabyte part# however the board would have been custom made for the system mfg. You would not find any info on the gigabyte site for that board. The only source would be the system mfg.
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,618
    I think your best bet is to stay with what you have or sell the whole system and buy or build a system that meets your requirements.
     
  14. btp.kickoff

    btp.kickoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Alright, thanks guys. When I get the cash I think I will just build my own.

    Will using the parts from my Current comupter work or does this being a factory made inhibit the possibilities?

    I have got a video card that I put in myself which I bought, I can take that, but will my RAM and Power Supply work with a custom?
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,618
    You could some parts like the drives and maybe the memory. I would dump the power supply, most power supplies from these systems are insufficient to run upgraded hardware.

    I still haven't haven't a site that lists your correct specs.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/745633