1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What do you need to start your own website without any other companies, server-wise?

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by mattvot, Jul 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mattvot

    mattvot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    ... and do you have to register?
     
  2. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    a LAMP server (or WIMP, i suppose), Apache mod_security, a firewall.

    I'm sure other have plenty of suggestions. You want a domain name? Yeah, you have to register it. I don't know of a way to get around that unless you only want it to be available on your private network (something I doubt).
     
  3. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    I'm pretty sure you have to register for a dns too.
     
  4. mattvot

    mattvot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    who and how would i register it?
     
  5. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    www.internic.net

    They'll have the specifics on the info you're looking for.
     
  6. Big-K

    Big-K

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,052
    or, y'know, WAMP
     
  7. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    With all the good web designers in the world its surprising that you still come across sites that look like that.
     
  8. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650

    Ehhh, I guess that's an option, too! lol.
     
  9. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,184
    First Name:
    Chuck
    The Internic site looks perfectly fine to me. Then again, I place function above form. :)

    If you you want an example of a site that may leave a burning sensation in your eyes, take a look at this site recently mentioned on Digg.com:

    http://www.horserentals.com/virginia.html

    EDIT: To add to the answers of the original question, you will need at least one other company; an Internet Service Provider that lets you run a server on your internet connection and can provide the needed bandwidth and connection uptime that you require.
     
  10. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    Same here. I just think that it could look better/be better designed.

    Ouch! :D
     
  11. krissyafc

    krissyafc

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    You can use 110mb.com
    ist really worth it!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591651

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice