1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What do you recommend?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Ca33, Nov 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ca33

Ca33 Thread Starter

Computer: Sony Vaio Windows XP

Hi,
    I am a student and I need to have a software that lets me type essays, use MLA format and type out and print all kinds of documents for school. The software also has to have the capability to save my work on a floppy disk(diskette). My teachers recommend Corel WordPerfect 7.0 and Microsoft Word, but I'm not sure about which software would be better for my needs. If anybody has used these softwares, which one do you recommend or is there any other type of software that would work? Lastly, what are simple steps to saving typed documents onto floppy disks?

2. Sponsor

3. MFDnNC

MFDnNC

4. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79

Hi Ca33,

Since you are a student, and most students are on a budget, here is a freeware Word Processor: http://www.openoffice.org that a lot of people use.

I don't personally use it, so you'll have to determine if it meets your needs with regard to the MLA format?

I do use MS Office/MS Word 2000 version (paid) and know that Corel WordPerfect 7.0 is a competitor of Microsoft Word.

Simple step to get documents onto/off floppy (limit 1.44MB) is to drag and drop or use copy after verifying you have a formatted floppy and enough space on it to hold your docs.

Good luck,

-- Tom

5. Ca33

Ca33 Thread Starter

Thanks for the help:)
    I tried downloading OpenOffice but my computer keep claiming that it has not enough memory for it to download. I used Disk Cleanup and Add/Remove programs and there is still not enough memory. Are there any other ways to gain memory? Can you buy memory for a computer?

6. lotuseclat79