1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved What does exporting files mean?

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by Allan Murray, Sep 7, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Allan Murray

Allan Murray Thread Starter

I have been posting weekly on my blog for a couple of years using Wordpress. I asked a computer expert about storing all my postings. He said, 'just export them', and went ahead and did it. Since then he has repeated the process, and assures me that my postings are safely stored. The problem is that I do not know how to get access to them for possible editing and publication. I have tried to get the expert to explain to me how to do this, but I just cannot understand the jargon. Where can I get the infomation/tuition that I need? Allan.

2. SeanLaurence

SeanLaurence

First Name:
    Sean
    The term "exporting" is analogous to how it is used in the real world... You are sending the data away from where you are to another place. The analogy breaks down in that it is a copy of the data, unlike exported bananas that are no longer sitting on the dock in South America.
    The idea of exporting computer data usually implies the transformation of the data. For instance, you can export a Word file into a PDF file. Once the file is exported as a pdf, it can no longer be brought back into Word for editing.
    The opposite of " Exporting" is "Importing". If you are importing, again there is a transformation of the data. Why would you care? well, importing is not perfect. Just like translating froign languages, sometimes, details can be lost in translation.

Another pair of terms that are commonly used for the same idea is "Upload" and "Download". You "Download" data from a remote computer to your PC or you upload data from your PC to a remote computer.