1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What else can't usb do?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dugurama21, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dugurama21

    Dugurama21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I have a usb cable running from my new computer's usb port to my old computer's usb port. The old computer will work if it is already started up. Otherwise it will not start with the usb cable attached. IS THERE A WAY TO DO A FILE AND SETTINGS TRANSFER WITH THIS USB CABLE? I tried allwaysync.com, but this is mostly for a flash drive. I had to resort to using a cdrw. Also there is no ethernet on the old computer.
     
  2. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    what are the OS
    Do you want to clone The old to new ?
     
  3. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
  4. ceri sheeran

    ceri sheeran

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    894
    Hi,

    Unless you use a dedicated transfer cable such as the one shown in the link or another similar cable.

    You risk damaging one or both computers.

    The USB to USB laplink cables are very useful for transferring data.

    You cannot simply connect a USB cable between the two machines.

    A better way is to network the two machines.

    Alternatives

    Burn to CDR or DVDR

    USB flashdrive, may depend on the Operating Systems in use on the two cimputers.

    Take the hard drive out of old machine and slave into new

    USB hard drive enclosure.

    hth

    Ceri
     
  5. Dugurama21

    Dugurama21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    When you say usb laplink is there a kit that transfers files and settings?
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    No it's just a special cable as pictured. There is software you can use with it like Detto Intellimover, but it really is not necessary.
     
  7. Dugurama21

    Dugurama21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Bought a LapLink cable,but it only works with pcmover.
    plus my laptop is a piece of junk.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485925

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice