What Graphics Card Can/Should i get?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ChemicalMonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
175
I got vista and stuck it on my pc, only to find out that now my 125 dollar video card is useless (according to tech support anyways, shows its working fine in the device manager)

So, whats the best PCI Slot Graphics card can i get for my pc?

HP Pavilion a305w
Intel Celeron 2.69GHz
759 MB Ram
32 Bit OS (Windows Vista Basic)
ATI Radeon 9250 (Primary and Secondary)
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
339
It will work, but just barely. You would have to turn the settings down real low, and even then your framerate will probably be low.

I doubt any PCI card will be able to run Halo 2 very well at all.

Are you sure your motherboard doesn't have a AGP/PCI-E slot?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
531
You really shouldn't be running Vista on that machine.
XP is faster for games (and everything else), so go back to it if you can.
No matter which OS you use, you're not going to play games very well with a PCI card.
 

ChemicalMonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
175
Vista runs better then XP on it, and the games do as well, idk but they just do...

But yah...ill most likely be upgrading the motherboard soon if its not to expensive, if it is to expensive then ill have to either ebay halo 2 or get a card off it and live with the low quality lol
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If you want to go something modern you'd actually need to scrap the whole existing system. Replacing the mainboard with a non HP board will void your current HP OEM Windows XP license.
 

ChemicalMonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
175
:| You dont read well do you...i dont use XP lol i got vista, besides, it has the recovery drive as well
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
OK, well the same applies. That license is only valid while you use an HP motherboard, if you swap motherboards you are legally required to purchase a new license.
The Recovery Partition may also stop functioning if the motherboard is changed. Generally when you swap motherboards Windows fails to boot and a repair install or fresh install is required, something that may not be possible with a Recovery Partition.
 

ChemicalMonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
175
Never thought of that...ill get a cheap *** Geforce 6200, if it doesnt work on it then ill just wait till i get a new pc or ill just ebay off halo 2 and a few other games i got.

Civ 4 + Beyond The Sword and Genesis Rising if anyones interested
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top