1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

what happened here

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by paranoid bob, Sep 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paranoid bob

paranoid bob Thread Starter

I'm new at this and security is my main issue before I go "surfing". Last night while trying to download a zip program, my av kicked up and started scanning. While this was happening, Zone Alarm started connecting to Zone Labs without prompting( I had disconnected at the start of the alert). AVG
    found and "healed" the infection. It was "trojan horse irs back door.sd ...bot.34.bo". After, I checked ZA logs and found three programs activated but not by me and I don't use them.All three were asking for access
    to the internet but I denied them. I'm paranoid bob,remember? Those programs were: (i) files and transfer settings wizard, (ii)trivial files transfer and (iii) run dll as an app. I'm running XP and recently formatted but haven't had a chance to do updates(dial-up takes forever). Wwhat happened? Was I hacked? What are these programs used for and why did they activate without me asking? Remember, I'm a newbie, so make it easy for me to understand and I thank you ahead of time for any help.

2. Nok1

Nok1

3. paranoid bob

thnx Nok1,
    I have did what you said and saved the log file for hijack this. Please tell me
    what I do next and how to post a log file

4. Nok1

Nok1

Please copy the log here and someone will help you. Make it a new hijackthis log though.

5. Flags

Flags

Bob: Be sure that you updated HiJackThis, then run another scan. Highlight the entire scan results and press Control+ C. This will copy the selection to your Clipboard.