1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What have I done ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by stephencoff, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stephencoff

stephencoff Thread Starter

Could someone please assist me, if at all possible ?
    I have very little knowledge and or skill when it come to DOS, BIOS etc
    I had a windows 98 boot disk which a friend made for me on a CD. I had used it once before to wipe my windows and format the hard drive for a fresh install. It's been years and tried to reuse it on the weekend. I have a habbit of stuffing things up and without fail, striked once again !
    I inserted the CD and restarted the computer and typed "KILDISK" and erased the hard drive twice. I then used the "FDISK" to set up the partitions and then proceeded to "FORMAT". So far all seemed well.
    I put the windows disk in the (Windows XP) and tried to install a fresh copy but nothing. It won't load the CD and comes up saying "Missing Operating System" eeeks.
    I was sure this was how i did it some years ago, obviously not because I never had these problems.
    I am hoping it is nothing to serious and contemplated if the CD was damaged and maybe didn't load everything correctly. I actually had the 98 Boot Disk on floppy and went to try that. I then realised my floppy drive wouldn't read it and now question how bad things really are ?

Can anyone realise what i have done wrong from whats described and is there an easy solution ?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen

2. guitar

guitar Banned

set it up in bios to boot from cd its probably set to boot from ide

3. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

Hi, Just boot with your XP CD, you should see the setup start...