1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What is ATL.DLL?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by peterc, Feb 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. peterc

    peterc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Does anyone know what is ATL.DLL? What are some common files (DLL, OCX) are depending on it?

    I have installed ATL.DLL which has version 3.0.9435.0. on a Windows 98 SE machine and I get the message "cannot run unicode version of atl.dll on WIN95. Please install the correct version".

    I have installed ATL.DLL which has version 3.0.9435.0. on a Windows NT SP6 machine and the machine just keep rebooting.


    Thank you for any help.
     
  2. cheese

    cheese

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,563
    Searched on google and found this guys post on what he did to fix it: I got the "cannot run unicode version of atl.dll on WIN95" too. It turns out something I installed overwrote atl.dll (Win95) with the atl.dll (NT) version.

    Then I went to the microsoft site and searched atl.dll. It refers to an article about visual C++ or something. Downloaded the atlinstl.exe, copied the atl.dll (win95 version) into my windows/systems folder, and everything worked again.
     
  3. PC_Wiz

    PC_Wiz

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    ATL FAQ?
    http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...port/kb/articles/Q166/4/80.asp&NoWebContent=1

    In windows 98:

    1) search for atl.dll
    2) rename atl.dll to atl.old ( most likely in in c:\windows\system)
    3) extracted atl.dll from cabs (c:\windows\options\cabs)
    4) reboot


    In NT
    1) try last known good configuration, but I dought it would work...
    2) If the file system is FAT16, then boot off a DOS, win98 boot disk and do a search for the atl.dll file , rename it. See if you can boot to windows.

    If the file system is NTFS, then you can download NTFS for DOS, and then follow same procedure. THere is a possibility that you may need to extract the file using the dos command.
     
  4. cj_white

    cj_white

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    333
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Beta Orionis
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    366
  2. OldValentine
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,426
  3. Jewelie
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    448
  4. bettyr
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    497
  5. s43
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    576
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/200571