1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What is netxmii.dll?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by 13thFloor, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 13thFloor

    13thFloor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    re; netxmii.dll

    I have never seen or heard of this one before.

    Client computer that his children also use occasionally.

    Windows XP Home
    HP Pavillion e1330n

    Can logon, but constant popups about this dll and and .exe apps not running because it is missing.

    In Control Panel cannot access System to try for the system restore function.

    Can install programs (tried to install some diagnostics and repair), but will not allow program to launch afterwards.

    Windows updates tried to install but many could not due to this error.

    Cannot launch in safe mode (networking or not) because of same netxmii.dll error.

    All searches do not bring up solution or explanation (except my posts on another forum).

    So, anybody come across this before? Any experience with it and/or solutions?
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    In my opinion, it's malware related.

    If you wish, please click on Report and kindly ask to be moved to the Virus & Other Malware Removal forum. Be sure to provide the appropriate reports in that forum after reading THIS. From there, be patient. You should get an answer within the next 48 hours. Those guys are really busy!
     
  3. 13thFloor

    13thFloor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you Phantom010 ... have so requested.

    After reading the Virus/Malware diagnostic suggestions I have to reiterate that the computer involved will not launch any exe programs, so HiJackThis and other programs will not work. Safe Mode cannot be accessed and even trying to use the Windows XP disc to try and repair will not work either. This is why I queried if anybody had come across this particular error call of netxmii.dll and had any experience with it. Most indeed I would agree with malware being the source of the challenge.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try this fix: EXEFIX

    Save the .reg file to your desktop. Double-click it to merge it to the registry.

    Reboot.

    If the fix only opens as a text file, right-click it and select Open With > Choose Program... Then, select the Registry Editor.


    If the Registry Editor is not in the list, browse to C:\WINDOWS and select regedit.
     
  5. 13thFloor

    13thFloor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks, Phantom010.

    Tried that but still occurring.

    Had to acquire the file on another computer because no browser can be launched in the infected one, then transfer by USB stick to infected computer (a challenge in itself, but done). Merged with Registry (confirmed on screen), rebooted and confronted with same warnings.

    It is possible, as with many malwares, that the box is reinfected on reboot.

    Keeping this 'fix' in my files though, thanks.

    If it wasn't for some expensive programs ($1000+) installed that are licensed to that computer (user kept license information only in his emails that are in that computer and now cannot access to copy), I would replace the drive, re-install Windows, and start fresh. Would even attempt connecting infected drive to a well protected new one and see if infection could be fixed or at least files transferred over after scanning. This still may be the only option - but I do enjoy a good challenge :)
     
  6. kevinf80

    kevinf80 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11,383
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Hiya 13thFloor,

    See if this will run on the infected PC, you can transfer via stick or CD if necessary:

    • Please download exeHelper to your desktop.
    • Double-click on exeHelper.com to run the fix.
    • A black window should pop up, press any key to close once the fix is completed.
    • Post the contents of exehelperlog.txt (Will be created in the directory where you ran exeHelper.com, and should open at the end of the scan)
    Note: If the window shows a message that says "Error deleting file", please re-run the program before posting a log - and post the two logs together (they will both be in the one file).

    Next,

    Please download Rkill and save to your Desktop.
    • Double-click on the Rkill desktop icon to run the tool.
    • If using Vista or Windows 7 right-click on it and Run As Administrator.
    • A black DOS box will briefly flash and then disappear. This is normal and indicates the tool ran successfully.
    • If not, delete the file, then download and use Link 1 from the following list and so on in sequencial order until one runs successfully.
    Link 1

    Link 2

    Link 3

    Link 4

    Link 5

    Link 6
    • A log pops up at the end of the run. This log file is also located at C:\rkill.log. Please post this log in your reply.
    • If you get an alert from your own Security Program, accept it and allow Rkill to run, it is very safe and will not harm your system.
      If the alert is from the Infection Malware program (you`ll know by the name) leave the alert open and run the same Rkill version again. You may have to run it several times, it may take upto 9 to work.
    • If the tool does not run from any of the links provided, please let me know.


    Dont re-boot after those steps...

    Next,

    See if you can d/l and run Malwarebytes...

    [​IMG] Please download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and save it to your desktop.
    Alernative D/L mirror
    Alternative D/L mirror

    Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
    • Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
    • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
    • Once the program has loaded, select "Perform Quick Scan", then click Scan.
    • The scan may take some time to finish,so please be patient.
    • When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
    • Make sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
    • When disinfection is completed, a log will open in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Extra Note)
    • Please save the log to a location you will remember.
    • The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
    • Copy and paste the entire report in your next reply.

    Extra Note:

    If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove,you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts,click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process. If asked to restart the computer, please do so immediately.

    Kevin
     
  7. 13thFloor

    13thFloor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks, Kevinf80!

    Quite a "to do" list and I will tackle it later this evening. Even though self-employed online, duties and clients call and this can wait.

    I am anxious to try it all and it will be a challenge, indeed, due to the restrictions that computer faces in launching anything.

    Will report back as soon as I can.
     
  8. kevinf80

    kevinf80 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11,383
    First Name:
    Kevin
    One other point, can you check to see if the browser is running through a Proxy....

    Check for proxy server settings in your browser, the following are the most common used.

    Internet Explorer:
    Tools Menu -> Internet Options -> Connections Tab ->Lan Settings > uncheck "use a proxy server" and check to "Automatically detect settings". ok, apply (only if applicable), ok.

    Firefox:
    Tools Menu -> Options... -> Advanced Tab -> Network Tab -> "Settings" under Connection. "No Proxy" should be selected, unless you have one set up yourself.

    Chrome:
    Select -> Tools menu -> then "Options", then go to "Change Proxy Settings", then "LAN Settings" , then take out the check mark for "Use a proxy server for your LAN" if set, unless you set this up yourself.

    Safari
    • Launch Safari
    • Go to general settings menu
    • Then in Preferences/ Advanced
    • Then on line click Proxies change settings ...
    • Click Internet Options, then click the Connections tab, click Network Settings.
    • Disable option (uncheck) for the use of proxy server ...

    Kevin
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975435

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice