1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What is the easiest way to upgrade multiple Vista PC's to Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DiamondDog, Feb 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DiamondDog

DiamondDog Thread Starter

Just as asked in the title. I'm not an IT professional by any means, everything I know I've picked up on my own. With that being said, I just started working for a small local repair shop. We were contracted by a small business to upgrade all of their laptops to Windows 7 and they emphasized keeping all their data and software configurations is extremely important. I've already checked and the laptops are spec'd to meet the upgrade requirements. Also, the software that they are using on these laptops is compatible as well.

My initial thought was that the easiest upgrade path would be to just run the setup.exe once booted into windows 7, since that automates all the user data and application migration. But I'm sitting here now and this first laptop is about to hit an hour on the clock since the process started and I'm thinking isn't there an easier way to do this on all of the laptops simultaneously? We only have one x86 copy of the Windows 7 Prof install DVD and I just can't help but think I'm not working as efficiently as I could be.

Any and all insight and answers are appreciated.

Also, this is my first question topic. You guys here seem like a helpful bunch. I foresee that I will be coming back with more questions in the futures thanks to my new job :cool:

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    It's been a long time since I upgraded a Windows Vista SP2 computer to Windows 7 SP1, but I don't recall it taking more than an hour.