What is the upgrade edition?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
Hey every one,

What is the upgrade edition for windows: vista? I know how both the retail and the OEM versions work. But I know how the upgrade editions work.

Retail = You can install this one a computer and then if you upgrade later you can install it on that pc.

OEM = The operating system is tied to the mother board. So if you change out your mother board you have to buy another copy of the OEM version. (or buy the retail version.)

Upgrade = ?????????

bigk :)
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
Upgrade = ?????????
That means you have to Install .. or have a previous version installed ... like W-XP ..
to install the upgrade version.

The upgrade version recommends you do a clean install of XP first ... (it's in the fine print)
I had weird things happen cause I didn't do this ... but all went OK anyway.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
One Time ???
I'd guess you can reinstall any time starting with W-XP
But I cheat and make an Acronis recovery so I don't have to play all the games ever again.
I can reinstall faster than you can read the XP disc
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
No, you can install it more then once just like with any version of Windows. You cannot however install it on more then one computer at a time.
 

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
Triple6 said:
No, you can install it more then once just like with any version of Windows. You cannot however install it on more then one computer at a time.
So the upgrade edition is pretty much the same as the retail version but I need to install windows xp first and then install windows: vista?

I apologize for dragging this on further, but I do thank you both.

Bigk :)
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
That's Right .... And apologies not needed ..
I'm in the process of reinstalling Vista right now ... I didn't like what happened on the first install.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
21
And you can make a "clean" install of Vista using the upgrade version, but from my understanding the setup must be initiated from within an existing XP installation (rather than booting to install from the Vista DVD).
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
Just tried several tricks to avoid a clean install of W XP... no go.

Had to reload W-MCE ... Then install Vista HP upgrade.
Had the option to do a clean install or include XP settings ..etc ..
I chose a clean install.

If W-XP is running (or Installed) ... you can also upgrade from there.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
7,800
You should also be able to do a clean install from the upgrade disk.

You'll have to prove you own an older version of Windows, but it'll save you some time.

(This used to work on older Windows at least, I doubt they dropped the feature)
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
I tried the internet clean install tricks .. No Go.
Was easier to just re-install Windows XP... to get a clean copy to work with.

Seemed to make no difference if I upgraded my existing XP ... or reloaded it.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,140
Yes .. but all this is a time consuming hassle... PITA
Nothing beats a fresh system restore for tunning up a computer or fixing it.

With this in mind ...
After you get a fresh Vista installed, set up the way you like it, and a few favorite programs installed ...
The next step would be to make an Acronis recovery image in an External HD or make an Acronis recovery DVD...
So you can restore back to the way you like it ... in less time than it takes to read the Vista upgrade DVD... and Install.

Anyone know how to disable the Vista system recovery (like I could in XP) so that the recovery file is small enough to fit on one DVD ??
 

bigk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
431
Noyb said:
Anyone know how to disable the Vista system recovery (like I could in XP) so that the recovery file is small enough to fit on one DVD ??
I assume the process is the same like in Xp.

1.) Right click on "My computer".
2.) Click on "properties."
3.) Click on "System Restore."
4.) Move the slider down so it fits on a dvd. (or you could completely turn it off by taken the check mark out.)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top