1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What is V bonded DSL? Advice on best modem for it

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ArchxxAngel, Jul 17, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ArchxxAngel

ArchxxAngel Thread Starter

Hello to the amazing people who offer free help!

I currently have Windstream DSL internet and was able to upgrade from 50 megs to 100 megs. They told me I don't need a different modem for this change but I have been renting their modem/router for over 2 years and want to get my own (a really good one along with a router that can manage 2 Playstation Pros gaming online at the same time without a hiccup). When I upgraded the internet speed I talked to tech support about buying my own modem. I had read that the type of modem has to match the type of DSL. I asked if it was ADSL or VDSL. The only thing he could tell me is that it is V bonded. I asked if that means that it is bonded VDSL but he would only answer that it is V bonded. I searched the internet and can't find any info on "V bonded" DSL.

Can anyone shed any light on what exactly V bonded means?
    Can you please give me some suggestions on the best modem, router, or combo that will work the best with it? I'm not looking for the cheapest option; just the best performing and most reliable one.

Thank you :)

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name:
    Jim
    My advice would be to contact support again (or visit their webpage) and see which models their service supports. Then choose the "best" from their list. While any modem should work, that isn't always the case.

3. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
  4. ArchxxAngel