1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What is your preferred way to make a site?

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by deucemeister, Jun 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. deucemeister

deucemeister Thread Starter

I am very new to website building and I want to make a webpage for my photography business but I want it to look professional and require minimum worktime from me. I would also like to know what people think is the best way to design and publish a webpage is down to the specifics (what FTP client is preferred, how all the files and folders are kept organized, etc.)

I have looked at several online web design aids (free ones and ones that have fees) like:

Homestead
    Freewebs
    Tripod
    and several others that didn't strike me as noteworthy

I just can't decide whether I should go with Frontpage or Word and save the .html files for later upload with my FTP client or use a more user-friendly service with preset templates,easy publishing etc.

My conditions:
    -I want a .com domain
    -I don't want ads on my site.
    -I want easy access to the files for the site (especially high-res photos considering I want to be able to show off my photography on the site)
    -I don't want to spend more than $5-25 on any service or domain hosting

Any advice:confused: ? Thanks much;)

2. professor05

professor05

Here's what you'll need: http://www.netfirms.com/
    I suggest you learn "Flash" which is not that hard, and do your website in flash. Then just go, register your domain with any popular ending you what (what is offered), upload your website files and, viola!, you're set!